Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.7 Review)

Tonight’s episode of The Rap Game was all about collaborating, so, in order to test their abilities to work alongside other artists, Jermaine split the kids up into two groups and had them write and perform a song at Hot 107.9’s Birthday Bash Block Party.

I really enjoyed watching the young artists perform at such a huge event (there was approx. 10,000 people present), but before I get into my thoughts on the performance, I want to tell you all that happened before that.

So, at the beginning of the episode, Jermaine took the kids to Hot 107.9 for an interview with the Durtty Boyz. He was curious to see which of the five would take control and really grab the DJ’s attention. At the end of the interview, he asked them which rapper did they favor and their answer surprised me.

I don’t necessary think that that rapper is the strongest in the house, but, even with that, they still seem to grab people’s attention and this is why I stated, in a previous post, that I can see why Jermaine keeps them around.

After that, they were given their task and spit into their groups. Since there is an odd number of rappers, the groups were uneven. From the jump, I put my money on group 1 because of one person. I felt that that group had the potential to bring home the win just because of that one artist and their manager. They’re such a phenomenal team and I felt that they would be more than capable of rubbing some of that greatness off on the rest of the group.

Group 2 was okay, but I felt that they didn’t really have a leader. Everyone was trying so hard to lead and they ended up clashing with one another. They didn’t really know where they were doing, which was made very clear at their rehearsal.

Jermaine brought in rap group, Migos, and group 2 completely bombed. It was extremely embarrassing and, if I were one of those managers, I would’ve been so upset. Even though they’re kids, they still need to take this competition seriously. There’s no time to joke around, especially if you did that bad at rehearsal. Two of the managers flipped out on the kids after that rehearsal and I, honestly, don’t blame them. They were humiliated.

Migos gave them some feedback after their rehearsal, but, in my opinion, they were never able to surpass group 1. Group 1 had it down from the beginning and their performance at the Birthday Bash Block Party only confirmed my assumption.

They were the total package during their performance. They had their lyrics down, their stage presence was on point and one of them even took it to a whole other level when it came to audience interaction. I tip my hat off to them (and their managers) because they killed it in front of everyone!

Don’t you agree? I hope you do because I was extremely impressed.

In addition to Migos, we got to see a couple other hip hop artist. Rapper, Lil Dicky, came up and gave the kids a little advice and The Rap Game season one winner, Miss Mulatto, even stopped by after her performance to speak to the kids.

Overall, this was a good episode and I completely agreed with this week’s Hit List.

Didn’t you? If not, let me know what your Hit List would’ve looked like. Also, let me know what you thought of tonight’s episode, in general. Did you love it or hate it?

Until next week!

The Rap Game airs on Fridays at 10 p.m. on Lifetime.

Amira 😉

 

Click here to read my review on episode 8 of The Rap Game.

One thought on “Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.7 Review)

  1. Pingback: Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.6 Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a comment