Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.8 Review)

This week’s episode of The Rap Game was all about versatility.

At the beginning of the episode, Jermaine took the artists and their managers to a rap battle. Majority of the kids had never been to or even knew what a rap battle was, so the trip was pretty eye opening and exciting for them.

But, you know that it wasn’t all about fun. Jermaine wanted the kids to pay close attention to how adaptable the rappers were. He wanted them to observe and learn from the rappers and, if they were ready, actually get in the ring and battle one of them.

I’d seen a rap battle before, so I wasn’t as excited as the kids were, but what I was excited (and slightly surprised) about was the fact that a couple of the kids actually ended up battling.

Prince of New York went first and he did pretty good. He was the only one that was really familiar with battling, so I wasn’t too surprised that he stepped up. And although he didn’t start off ‘battling,’ he, eventually, get the hang of it and the audience showed him some love.

Lil Key went next and he did good as well. The guy that he battled sort of disrespected his mom, so, by the time it was his turn to rap, he was fired up and even though he doesn’t consider himself a battle rapper, he killed it. He really got into his rap and the crowd also showed him love.

I was really proud of Prince of New York and Lil Key for stepping up to the plate. I know that that must have been intimidating as all get out, so I was extremely happy that they both got up there and represented Jermaine and So So Def to the fullest.

At the end of the rap battle, Jermaine gave the rappers their task for this week, which was to write a 16-bar rap. Said rap was supposed to be able to flow to a number of different beats because, throughout their performance, the DJ would be, periodically, changing the beat and it would be up to them to adapt and stay with it.

At this point, all of the rappers are used to writing (and learning) their rhymes, so they breezed right through this part. It was the actual performance that the kids struggled with.

I’m sad to say that I was extremely disappointed in this performance. I know that it’s not easy staying on beat, but I expected them to do so much better. A small part of me feels bad for saying that because I don’t want to be too hard on them, but, at the end of the day, they’re competing to be signed to a major record label and they need to be on point.

Wouldn’t you guys agree?

I couldn’t believe that only 2 of the 5 rappers had a good performance! I was floored. There were stumbles, fumbles and someone even forgot their lyrics. They were all over the place. This week, defiantly, wasn’t one of their best.

There isn’t much that I can say about that performance. It wasn’t good, but I am happy and proud of the two that actually killed their performance. Hats off to them!

Throughout the episode, we did see some drama between the managers/parents. There were two spats that went on and they both involved Mani’s mother, Lacretia. I’m not sure what’s up with her, but the arguments didn’t last very long, which is good, but it was still sad to watch because you could tell that the kids were kind of uncomfortable.

Also, I’m not a fan of Nia Kay’s father, Seneca. He rubs me the wrong way. Every since that whole situation that happened with Lil Key, I just feel like he’s a snake in the grass. I wouldn’t trust him and I wouldn’t want him to be apart of my team.

Y’all gotta be with me on this because I know I can’t be the only one that’s getting bad vibes from that dude.

Anyway, this episode was good. It really tested the kids ability to adapt to their surroundings. Some did good, while others failed miserably, which is to be expected.

However, there’s only two more weeks left in this season, so they really need to step their game up if they want that number one spot.

Let me know in the comment section what you guys thought of tonight’s episode of The Rap Game. Also, let me know who you think will be Jermaine’s next signee.

Until next week!

The Rap Game airs on Fridays at 10 p.m. on Lifetime.

Amira 😉

One thought on “Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.8 Review)

  1. Pingback: Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.7 Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

