Books / Entertainment / Review

Something Like Love (Serendipitous Love Book 6) by Christina C Jones

Something Like Love (Serendipitous Love Book 6) by Christina C Jones

Price: $3.99 (Kindle Edition) or Free (with Kindle Unlimited subscription)

Rating: 5/5

Review: Simply put, this book is amazing!

It kept me locked from beginning to end and I’m sad that it’s over.

My only hope is that Ms. Jones comes out with another novel ASAP because I am in desperate need of another African American Romance and, so far, she’s one of the only black authors that creates the types of stories that call to me.

For the past month or so, I haven’t been interested in reading stories about kingpins who have crazy, manipulative baby mommas and backstabbing “friends.” I want to read about a regular joe, with a normal 9 to 5, who falls in love with a regular woman. I want to be able to relate to the characters that I’m reading about, you know?

This novel provided those things, along with so much more, and I completely loved it!

~~~~

Something Like Love tells Eddie and Astrid’s unconventional love story.

Eddie is a thirty-six year old tattoo artist, who’s extremely successful, blunt and, of course, a player. He’s also not the type to bend to social norms and a lot of that has to do with his bisexuality.

You see, Eddie is all about vibes and he doesn’t care if they’re coming from a male or a female. As long as said vibes are positive, he has no problem moving forward.

Now, I’ll admit that I don’t read a lot of gay and/or bisexual novels. I’ve come across tons of them, but they never really catch and hold my attention, so when I started to read this book, I was kind of skeptical because I was unsure of how Ms. Jones would craft Eddie and his story. However, I was extremely impressed with how she did it and I’m glad that I kept an open mind and continued on.

Astrid, on the other hand, is the complete opposite of Eddie. Personality wise, she’s a free spirit. She does yoga, meditates, drinks tons of smoothies and is just a positive person. I liked her instantly and the only thing that she has in common with Eddie is the fact that she is also bisexual.

However, in our society, the acceptance level of a bisexual woman is a lot higher than that of a bisexual man and I’m glad that Ms. Jones addressed that double standard.

It was nice seeing things through Eddie’s eyes because, as women, we sometimes forget that we aren’t the only ones that society tries to put and keep in a box. In some ways, men are expected to behave in a certain manner and if they aren’t behaving in “the right way,” then they become targets. Unfortunately, that happened to Eddie a couple times throughout the book, but I loved how he handled himself. He was the very definition of a man who knows who he is and is comfortable with it.

Astrid and Eddie’s chemistry was off the charts! I love a good enemies-to-lovers story and this was one of the best that I’ve read in a while. The pace was just right and it kept me 100% invested. This couple doesn’t have a typical relationship, but what they do have works for them.

There were quite a few secondary characters. Majority of them were featured in the previous Serendipitous Love Books, so for those who are fans of those novels, you’ll probably enjoy being able to catch up with some of your favorite characters.

However, this is a standalone, so don’t feel like you have to read all five books before you read this one. I didn’t and I had no problem following along.

Anyway, great job, Ms. Jones and I can’t wait to read your next novel!

If you guys haven’t picked this one up and you’re interested, definitely do! It was such a great read and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it just as much as I did.

Happy reading!

Amira;-)

Leave a Reply

