Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Netflix’s ’13 Reasons Why’ (Review)

Before we get into the review, let me just say that I’m really sorry that I haven’t posted anything in so long. To be completely honest, I wasn’t feeling up to writing, so I just took some time off. But, now that I’m back, I’m hoping that I’ll fall back into the habit of posting again.

I don’t want to come off as inconsistent, but the last few months have done nothing but paint me in that horrible light, so, once again, I apologize. I hope that you guys will continue to stick with me (and my blog) and I hope that you’ll continue to shower me with love and support. I really appreciate it!

Now, let’s get to the review.

~~~~

Clay Jensen and Hannah Baker from the Netflix series, 13 Reasons Why. I do not own the rights to this photo.

So, I’m pretty sure that most of you have heard about the new show that Netflix released a couple weeks ago. If you haven’t, don’t worry because we’re here to talk about it.

The show is called 13 Reasons Why and it’s based off the 2007 young adult novel, Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher.

The show itself was really good, but it was very intense and heart wrenching. It’s one of those stories that grabs a hold of you and keeps you locked up until every lie, secret and mystery is revealed. It was so good that it was hard for me not to watch all 13 episodes in one setting. The first 11 episodes were about 50 minutes long, while the final two ended up being a full hour.

13 Reasons Why tells Hannah Baker’s story. Hannah was a 17 year old high school student who committed suicide, but before following through on that act, she decided to record 13 tapes. Each tape consists of one reason why Hannah chose to take her own life. The story is told through not only Hannah’s POV, but through her friend Clay Jensen’s as well, so the audience listens to the tapes along with him.

Each episode has a different tape, subject and event, which I loved because it kept the story from being boring and repetitive. But, along with listening to the tapes, you also have Hannah’s parents trying to figure out what exactly made their daughter take her own life and the subjects of most of the tapes trying to make sure that their secrets stay secret, so you get a bit of drama too.

Since we’re on the subject of the subjects, let’s talk about the characters outside of Hannah and Clay. There are quite a few of them and they’re secrets are as small as accidentally starting a rumor to as big as raping someone.

The things that these teenagers did were crazy and their blatant disregard for someone else’s feelings completely threw me. I just couldn’t believe how cold they were (some more than others). Either they didn’t see fault in what they did or they just didn’t care. Either way, it made me keep watching because I really wanted to see some consequences.

Speaking of consequences, I know one teen in particular (I’m not saying any names) who DESERVED some type of punishment! He/she was so entitled and really didn’t think that they were in the wrong. I just couldn’t believe it! If you’ve seen 13 Reasons Why than I’m sure you know exactly who I’m talking about.

Hannah and Tony were my favorite characters. I felt so bad for Hannah because she was so lonely and no one wanted to be her friend. It seemed like the harder she tried, the harder they pushed her away and I just couldn’t understand why so many people treated her so bad because she was a really sweet girl.

Tony, on the other hand, was awesome! He was a tatted guardian angel, who was so wise and always there when he was needed. I loved his character! He’s the perfect example of the saying “don’t judge a book by its cover” and although I liked Clay, he kind of got on my nerves. He didn’t really start to grow on me until the last few episodes because I wanted more from him. I wanted him to be more assertive and his stalling was on another level!

In terms of the plot, I have to say that I kind of felt that the first couple episodes were a little slow. It was hard for me to stay focused, but as I got further along in the series, the episodes started to fly by. The acting was phenomenal! Most of the characters have emotional scenes, so crying and falling apart, emotionally, happened in almost every episode and they nailed every scene.

Overall, I really enjoyed the series. It was very powerful and it did an amazing job of highlighting some of the issues that a lot of students deal with on a, sometimes, daily basis. For example, issues, like bullying, aren’t taken seriously by a lot of people (teachers, administrators, parents, etc.) and they should be. That type of abuse can be very detrimental to the victim’s self confidence and state of mind, which may, in turn, lead them to hurt themselves or others.

It’s very important that we, not only take these actions seriously, but that we also have QUALIFIED people in place to help the victims get through their trauma.

If there’s one thing that I loved about this series, it was the fact that it pointed out that high school isn’t a cakewalk for everyone. There are actually those who are having, or who have had, a rough time and that if you notice anything strange or erratic with a someone’s behavior, please try to get them some help or even just be a friend and/or a shoulder to cry on. Sometimes it’s that simple.

I was a little disappointed in the ending and the fact that I haven’t heard anything about a second season adds to my disappointment. However, the book ended in the same way, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.

Anyway, great series, so definitely check it out if you haven’t already. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

Let me know what you all thought about 13 Reasons Why. I’m anxious to hear your thoughts on what went on.

Amira 😉

 

A Little Extra: Most of the faculty/staff at their school was a definite no-no!

Leave a Reply

