Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Mariah Carey’s New Show Premieres (Review)

p13476354_b_v8_aa

I do not own the rights to this poster.

Mariah Carey’s 8-part docu-series, Mairah’s World, premiered tonight and it was okay.

It was pretty much what I expected it to be. The whole point of the series is to give the viewers an inside look into her life as she plans her world tour, which is the main reason why I decided to tune in, and her wedding.

I’m really interested in the musical side of her life, so I was all for that part, but the personal side doesn’t really interest me. However, I did like seeing her twins, Monroe and Moroccan. They were adorable and it was nice seeing her play the mother role.

I just have to say that although I love Mariah’s music, I think she, personality wise, would be hard to deal with. I feel like she’s the type of person that fascinates you when you first meet, but, after a while, the novelty wears off and she becomes too much. She just seems like she’s always putting on a show.

For example, I highly doubt that anyone will ever catch her longing around in her house, on a day off, wearing a pair of sweatpants and a simple t-shirt. She’ll probably be wearing some fancy lingerie with 6-inch stilettos, a full face of makeup and her hair perfectly coiffed. Who does that?! It’s great to observe from a far, but when it’s something that you have to deal with on a daily basis, I can see it getting old very fast.

Speaking of getting old very fast, since she and James Packer are no longer together, I’m guessing that the whole wedding aspect of this show is irrelevant. They made them seem like they were so in love, so I’ll be patiently waiting for the episode (if we get an episode) where she explains their split.

Now back to the musical stuff. As I said earlier, one of the main points of the show is to observe as Mariah and her team plan for her tour, which is set to start in 2 weeks. During this episode, Mariah attended two rehearsals, both of which she was at least 2 hours late for; arranged background vocals; and helped develop the set list. She seems like a really hands on artist, which I respect, and she clearly knows what she’s doing. I just didn’t understand why the directors decided to play the ‘good cop, bad cop’ role with her and her manager, Stella.

Stella is very vocal and blunt. She clearly has no problem expressing how she feels, so I can see why people were intimidated by her, but they made it seem like Mariah needed Stella’s protection. That struck me as odd because Mariah has been in the industry for decades, so she has to know how to handle herself and how to take control in any situation, especially when it comes to her career. She seemed so take charge in certain scenes and meek and absent minded in others.

I also didn’t understand the storyline that they gave Mariah’s new tour assistant, Molly. We were introduced to her boyfriend, which, according to Stella’s rule, she isn’t supposed to have, and we followed her around as she did her job. We didn’t get that with anyone else on her staff, so they might have her cause some drama in an upcoming episode. There has to be a reason why they singled her out.

I don’t really have much else to say. The show was decent (even though, at times, it seemed scripted) and I’ll continue to watch. As I said earlier, I’m interested in the music and we all know that Mariah is a phenomenal musician.

But, enough about me.

What did you think of the premiere of Mariah’s World? Did you like it? If so, tell me what you liked best. If you didn’t like it, tell me why? Also, what was up with Bianca? Mariah has a British alter ego? Lol.

Mariah’s World airs on Sundays at 9 p.m. on E!.

Amira 😉

One thought on “Mariah Carey’s New Show Premieres (Review)

  1. Pingback: Amira: Mariah Carey’s New Show (#Review) #MariahsWorld @e_entertainment @MariahsWorld #realitytv https://realtalk4ublog.wordpress.com/2016/12/05/mariah-careys-new-show-premieres-review … – Mariah-Carey

Leave a Reply

