Chats / News

So Last Night Happened and…

I am, both, shocked and terrified for this country!

I wasn’t going to post anything having to do with last night’s election because I can’t stand politics, but I just feel so strongly about this that I decided to simply speak my peace.

First off, I still can’t believe that Donald Trump is the President-elect of the United States! I mean, judging by the amount of support that Hillary Clinton received, not only from celebrities, but from regular citizens as well, I was so sure that she was going to win this election by a landslide. But, apparently, those silent supporters were all patiently waiting for the right moment because they really came through for Donald when it counted.

He gave Hillary a run for her money last night and I just couldn’t believe my eyes. For one, I couldn’t understand why so many women (according to the CBS live coverage of the election, besides white uneducated men, suburban and college educated white women made up most of his voters) could support him. After hearing the derogatory names that he calls women and listening to that disgusting tape, you would think that they would flock to Hillary (or at least someone who wasn’t Donald Trump), but they didn’t. I don’t understand this!

Ladies, how can you put your trust into someone who, if given the chance, would gladly sexually assault you and who has referred to the female population as “dogs” and “slobs”? How?!

Another thing that surprised me was the fact that he actually gained more support from Hispanic and African American voters. In comparing this election to the one in 2012, Hillary lost Hispanic and AA voters, while Donald gained them. Once again, I don’t get it, but they cast their votes and he was their choice.

All these people obviously feel that he will be able to “make America great again,” but to be completely honest, I’m not so sure. Well, I guess it actually depends on what you think would actually make America great again because that statement is very subjective.

However, from what I’ve seen, Donald only seems to bring out the worse in people. He makes people feel like it’s okay to be hateful. I read an article and watched a video yesterday where it was reported that there was a racially fueled altercation at a poll station in Michigan. Now, this happened before he was elected, so just imagine when he gets sworn in. People are going to start turning against each other and that’s my ultimate fear.

I’m still reeling from last night, guys, so I’m not surprised to learn that people are, literally, trying to apply for asylum in other countries (mainly Canada). When I first heard that Canada’s immigration website crashed, I just shook my head because that’s so sad. If the two are related, than that means that people fear the coming years so much that they would rather run than deal with what’s to come.

As I said earlier, I’m still at a loss for words, but there’s nothing that we can do now, so I’m going to hope for the best and pray that the next 4 years aren’t as chaotic as I’m making them to be in my head.

I’m done here, so I’ll talk to you guys later.

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: If you’re interested, here are some articles that breakdown last night’s voter demographic: Article 1 and Article 2.

 

*I do not own the rights to my feature image. 

Leave a Reply

