Chats

Is There An Age Range for Trick or Treaters? [Poll]

First off, I hope you all had a fun and eventful Halloween. I didn’t do anything, other than pass out candy to the millions of trick or treaters that knocked on my door, on Halloween day, but I did celebrate with some friends over the weekend.

What did you do? Did you dress up? If so, what did you dress up as? Let me know in the comment section or on one of my social media sites.

Now, back to the matter at hand: Do you guys think that there should be an age range for trick or treaters?

I think so and the only reason why I bring this up is because I had to give the side eye to a couple of people that knocked on my door last night. I mean, I get it. Everyone is in the Halloween spirit and one of the main perks of participating in the holiday (other than having the freedom to dress up as anyone or anything that you want without an ounce of shame or judgement) is all the candy, but, guys, there were a couple people that were, in my opinion, WAY over (and under) the age range of trick or treating.

For example, a lady that was maybe in her late 40s, early 50s, knocked on my door last night. She had no kids with her and she had the simplest costume that I’d seen in a while. Her whole costume consisted of a sheer, flowy skirt and some bunny ears. That was it.

Now, my problem with this is that she could’ve easily gone to the store and bought her own candy! She is a grown woman, so why in the world is she out at 8 o’clock at night trick or treating with little kids? Why take candy from their mouths when you could’ve purchased way more candy than they’ll end up collecting throughout the whole night? And before someone says something about the draw of getting free candy, let me just say that that still doesn’t excuse her. No disrespect, but she is too old to be trick or treating. She needs to leave that to the little ones.

Now, on the other hand of the spectrum, you’ve got those who are too young to be trick or treating. For example, there were a couple parents who had infants, yes, infants, out last night. They would carry the babies up to the front door and hold out the bag, while telling the baby (who clearly wasn’t old enough to speak) to say, “trick or treat!”

No, just no.

The parents are obviously using their adorable, costume-clad babies to get free candy. Now, I get that some parents want to get their children in the Halloween spirit as soon as possible, but if your child: 1) can’t (or barely can) walk; 2) can’t hold a small conversation; and/or 3) isn’t old enough to consume solid food, then your child is too young to be out trick or treating. However, if you do have more than one child and one is over the age of 3, then I guess I understand why you have your infant out with you, but that doesn’t mean that you need to give the infant a candy bag.

I hope that I don’t offend anyone with this post, but I just had to vent and, for those who are curious, I think the perfect age range for trick or treaters is between the ages of 2-18. I can make an exception and say that you can go up to 21, but that’s only if you look young enough and can still pull it off.

What do you guys think? Do you agree with my age range? If not, let me know your perfect age range, if you have one.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

