Entertainment / Movies / Review

Michel’le’s Biopic, ‘Surviving Compton,’ Still Has Viewers in a Tailspin

Rhyon Nicole Brown, who is the actress that played Michel'le, and the real Michel'le. I do not own the rights to this photo.

Rhyon Nicole Brown, who’s the actress that played Michel’le, is sitting in the car and the real Michel’le is standing beside her. I do not own the rights to this photo.

It’s been quite a few hours since singer, Michel’le Toussaint’s, biopic, “Surviving Compton: Dre, Suge & Michel’le” aired and people are still talking about the amount of abuse that was present in the film.

Although I’m not familiar with Michel’le, I still wanted to catch the film because I was curious as to how she came up in the industry. The gossip that I’d heard from media people (like Wendy Williams) kept coming to mind as well. They kept bringing up her relationships with Dr. Dre and Suge Knight and the alleged abuse that happened throughout both of those relationships, so, yea, I was interested. Not only for the knowledge of how she got her start, but also because I wanted to know what happened between her and her two baby daddies.

I have to be honest and say that, after the first 30-40 minutes of watching the film, her history in the industry was the furthest thing from my mind because the amount of abuse that she suffered at the hands of Dr. Dre and Suge Knight had me engrossed.

In the film, Suge only hit her once, but he was very manipulative and controlling. When she was with him, she couldn’t do anything without his permission, even when he was incarcerated. He had his lawyer come up with rules and everything, so she had no freedom when they were together.

Michel'le (played by Rhyon Nicole Brown) tries to conceal a bruise that she got at the hands of Dr. Dre. I do not own the rights to this photo.

Michel’le (played by Rhyon Nicole Brown) tries to conceal a bruise that she got at the hands of Dr. Dre. I do not own the rights to this photo.

Dr. Dre, on the other hand, was the most shocking. According to Michel’le, he was a cheating, alcoholic who regularly abused her. In one scene, he assaulted her while she was sleeping and in another he actually shot at her. He was so close to shooting her and if she hadn’t have moved in time, he would’ve hit her.

I just couldn’t (and still can’t) believe how abusive he was! Apart of me expected Suge to be abusive because, over the years, I’ve heard some bad stories about him and his behavior in “Straight Outta Compton” wasn’t the best either, but I never would’ve pegged Dr. Dre to have treated his girl like that. I don’t own a pair of Beats headphones, but, if I did, after watching this film, I probably would’ve trashed them and never gave him another cent of my money. I just can’t support a man who treated women like that. I just pray that he isn’t like the now.

As I said earlier, it’s almost been a day since I watched that film and I’m still shocked and, judging by the amount of tweets that I’m currently reading, I’m not the only one who’s still disturbed.

Of course, Dr. Dre isn’t going to come out and admit that he abuses women, but a couple months back he did apologize to the women that he’s hurt. He didn’t name any names, but do you think that’s him admitting that he has abused women in the past? I think so.

It’s his way of saying ‘sorry’ without actually going into specifics, which some could argue makes his apology disingenuous. I can see that too, but what do you guys think? Would you take his statement as an apology or chuck it in the trash with the rest of the half-assed apologies that you’ve heard or received?

And, yes, I do know that it’s her word against his and I that I shouldn’t take her word as law, but I don’t think she would lie about this because there’s nothing to gain from it. I’m sure Dre will probably try to sue her for this, so, if it wasn’t true, why would she put herself through all the heartache and possible legal fees if it wasn’t her truth?

Anyway, the film was really good. It definitely shone some light on how big of a role she played in NWA. She was actually around for pretty much their whole run, so I can see why people were curious as to why she wasn’t in the film. She wasn’t trippin’ about it though and, at the beginning of the film, she said that that was their story and Surviving Compton is hers.

Overall, I liked the film and I would recommend it.

Did you watch Surviving Compton last night? If so, what did you think of it? Were you as shocked as I was? Let me know.

And for those who haven’t seen it yet, ya’ll can probably catch an encore presentation of it on Lifetime.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

