Books / Entertainment / Review

Descended: Alien Mate Index Book 3 by Evangeline Anderson (Book Review)

*I was given a reader’s copy of the book for an honest review.

51zxj4g1i8l

Descended: Alien Mate Index Book 3 by Evangeline Anderson

Page: 376

Price: $3.99 (Kindle Edition); $14.99 (Paperback)

Rating: 4.5/5

Review: I was given an ARC of this book a couple months ago, but, for some reason, it got filtered wrong in my email and it ended up in the wrong folder, so I didn’t see it until a couple days ago.

I wasn’t going to write a review on it because it was released a little over a month ago (August 27th), but I enjoyed it so much that I figured, why not? I also reviewed the first two books (one on here and the other on Amazon) in this series and I didn’t think it would be right to leave this one out.

So, if you’ve already read this one, please ignore it or pass it along to someone who hasn’t and be sure to come back next week for another book review.

~~~~

Descended is Charlotte Walker and Kristoff Verrai’s story.

Now, if you’ve read the previous two novels in this series than you should already know that Charlotte is Zoe (book 1) and Leah’s (book 2) best friend. Charlotte is the last of the three to be taken from Earth and, surprisingly, she is also the most important.

You see, the latest Goddess-Empress (or galaxy queen) has recently died, but, before she took her last breath, she told the Captain of her Imperial Guard and her most trusted companion, Kristoff, that it was his duty to find and protest her successor.

He sets out on his journey to find the new Incarnation and he, eventually, finds out about Charlotte and makes his way to Earth. He finds Charlotte and from that point on it’s a race to not only get her back to Femme One, but to also actually get her swarm in.

Throughout the whole novel, besides fighting for their right to be together (apparently, the rulers of the galaxy are full of elitists), they were also fighting against assassination attempts, power hungry foes and just plain old hatred.

There were a couple villains (two new ones and one returning one) in the novel, but the thing that annoyed me was that most of the villains had some power, which made it much harder to right them off. They were being very conspicuous about what they were doing, so I just didn’t understand why it took so long for someone to stand up and say something. I mean, Charlotte shouldn’t have had to participate in four different exercises to prove that she was the true Incarnation because it was made blatantly obvious that she was from the start.

Speaking of Charlotte, I liked her. She was a nice and very kind hearted person. She was definitely in the right profession because I could definitely tell that she loved helping people. She even helped a couple people that I would’ve let rot, if I’m being honest.

She was also very sweet, but I was surprised to find out that she didn’t know that Leah was no longer on Earth. She seemed very standoffish, so she probably hadn’t talked to Leah in a while, which is kind of weird since they consider themselves best friends. You would think that they would talk to each other, at least, a couple times a week, especially after Zoe’s disappearance. In the first couple days of knowing Kristoff, she told him more about herself than she told both of her friends.

Now, about Kristoff. I think he was my favorite leading male out of all three. He was a real gentleman, who was always there for Charlotte. Even though he really wanted to be with her, he knew that he couldn’t because in doing so they would most likely ruin her reputation and he didn’t want that. He was also extremely loyal and I think that’s a great quality to have in a significant other and protector.

This story mostly revolved around Charlotte and Kristoff, so the only secondary characters, that I can think of, were villains. We heard from Leah and Zoe, but that was only a couple times and it wasn’t until almost the end of the novel. However, it was great to hear about them. I was wondering how they were doing, so I’m glad that Evangeline gave us an update.

Descended was about 100 pages shorter than the previous two books and I could tell. It usually takes me some time to get through one of Evangeline’s novels, but this one seemed to fly by. It started out slow for me, but at about 60% things started to pick up and, before I knew it, I was done.

Overall, this was another great book that I highly recommend! I can’t wait for the 4th book, but that doesn’t come out until the end of November, so, in a way, I’m glad that I didn’t find this book until recently because my waiting period isn’t as long as it would’ve been.

Anyway, for those who’ve already read Descended, please let me know what you thought of it. I’m curious and I would love to read about your thoughts and feelings on the girls and their amazingly, sexy men! For those who haven’t read it, you should! It’s a great read and it’ll suck you in.

Lastly, for those who are wondering, you don’t have to read the previous two books for this one to make sense, so if you want to start with book 3 and work your way backward, then feel free.

Happy reading!

Amira 😉

One thought on “Descended: Alien Mate Index Book 3 by Evangeline Anderson (Book Review)

  1. Pingback: Severed: Alien Mate Index Book 4 by Evangeline Anderson (Book Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

