Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

FOX’s ‘Pitch’ Premieres! (Show Review)

Ginny Baker (Kylie Bunbury) from 'Pitch.' I do not own the rights to this photo.

Ginny Baker (Kylie Bunbury) from ‘Pitch.’ I do not own the rights to this photo.

Tonight was a night that I’d been highly anticipating for quite some time and it’s all because of Fox’s new show, Pitch. 

Pitch, which is an hour long drama series, follows 23 year old pitcher, Ginny Baker (Kylie Bunbury), who, as it turns out, just so happens to be the first female to compete in any of the four professional sporting leagues. With this show, I assume, that it’ll take us along for the ride as she tries to find her place in a world that’s only ever been conquered by men.

I think tonight’s episode was good. It gave us a little background on Ginny and it also gave us a little taste of what she’ll be going through throughout the season.

Right off the bat, we got to see how reluctant her teammates and coaches are to accept her. To them, she’s a gimmick, whose sole purpose is to fill seats. They (minus one) don’t think that she’s talented enough to be apart of the team, so they’re only putting up with her because the higher ups say they have to.

This doesn’t surprise me. I knew that it would take her teammates and the coaching staff time to get used to a girl being apart of the team. Since the sport has only ever been a place for men, I think it’s quite logical that there would be some guys who would be unwilling to accept her, especially if she’s more talented than they are. Now, just because I’m not surprised by this behavior doesn’t mean that I think it’s okay. I don’t think it’s okay, but I hope that over time they’ll learn to accept her and welcome her into the fold, especially since they need her.

Another thing that we saw Ginny struggle with was the pressure. By her being the first of her kind, there were so many little girls (and females, in general, no mater age, race or religion) who were all depending on her to succeed that it just got to be too much. We watched her play in her first game with the San Diego Padres and she completely bombed! I think she threw about 10 pitches and they were all off. She eventually begged to be taken out of the game.

I felt so bad for her because having that many eyes on you and that many people depending on you can be overwhelming. It was something that she wasn’t used to, so she just buckled under the pressure. I didn’t blame her for asking to be taken out, but I loved how she came back during their second game. It started off rocky, but, after a pep talk from Mike Lawson (Mark-Paul Gosselaar), her team captain, she got it together and did her part.

I was so proud and inspired! This isn’t based on true events, but it sure felt like it.

Just after watching the premiere, I can already tell that there is going to be tons of drama and I love it! Who knew that starting a female on a professional sporting league could get under so many people’s skin?

I mean, you got the teammates fighting one another because half of them don’t agree that she should be apart of the team; then, you got the higher ups fighting because one half wants to keep her on because she’s brining in more attention, revenue and they’re loving the fact that they’ve made history, while the other half still can’t get over the fact that she’s a girl; and lastly, you’ve got the problems that she’ll have within herself. Don’t forget, this is new territory for her. She isn’t used to so much attention, so I’m sure we’re going to see her struggle to deal with the media and all that stuff.

Plus, that little twist that they revealed at the end of the episode is sure to bring drama. It’s very important to have a support system, especially when you’re in the type of position that Ginny’s in and I’m afraid that she may be left hanging in that department.

Overall, I loved the episode and I can’t wait until next week. I knew right from the jump that I would like this show and I was spot in with my assumption. The acting was great and I’m very interested in the plot. I just can’t wait to see what’s in store for us with this one.

What did you guys think of Pitch? Did you love it as much as I did? If so, let me know what you loved about it in the comment section.

Until next week!

Pitch airs on Thursdays at 9 p.m. on FOX.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

