Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

E! Network’s ‘Rob & Chyna’ Premieres (Show Review)

I do know own the rights to this photo. Photo Credit. E! website.

Blac Chyna and Rob Kardashian. I do know own the rights to this photo. Photo Credit. E! website.

After months of waiting, Rob & Chyna finally premiered and it wasn’t as bad as I expected. I learned some new things about each of them and I think I’ll be tuning in next week.

I’m pretty sure you guys all know who Rob Kardashian and his fiancé, Blac Chyna (a.k.a. Angela), are, so I won’t bore you will background information. I’ll just jump right into what I thought of tonight’s episode.

But, before I do that, I’m just going to add a small disclaimer. So, here goes: Any and everything that I write in this post is strictly based off of what I’ve gathered from watching tonight’s premiere. Any thoughts or opinions that I have tonight may change as the season goes on, so, if they do, please don’t crucify me for it. Thanks! 

~~~~

So, I’m just going to start off by congratulating Rob and Chyna on their pregnancy. Along with revealing the gender of their baby (they’re having a girl), they also let us know that the pregnancy was planned. I (probably like millions of other people) thought that this was an ‘oops’ baby. Glad I didn’t bet anyone on that one because I would’ve lost!

Rob also gave Chyna a ton of credit for helping him get his life back on track. According to him, he wouldn’t have been able to get out of that 3-4 year slump without her influence. I was happy to hear that. I used to watch Keeping Up With The Kardashians and he hadn’t been doing good on there for while, so I’m glad that he’s now in a better space.

Even though he still struggles and is very conscious of his weight (you’ll see when you watch the premiere), he looks way better than he did on KUWTK. 

Chyna also touched on how difficult it was to get back in with the Kardashians. If you know their history, than you know that the family wasn’t happy when they first found out that Rob and Chyna were dating. It was all over the internet and on KUWTK. However, I’m sure Kylie Jenner dating her baby daddy, Tyga, played a part in her issues with the Kardashians as well, but let’s not go there.

I have to say, watching Chyna interact with Rob’s mother, Kris, was kind of painful. Was it me or did it seemed fake and awkward?

It was like they were trying to make nice because they had to. Not only for the cameras, but for that fact that she’s pregnant with her grandchild, which means that she’ll forever be in their lives. I feel like, deep down, Kris still isn’t okay with their relationship and apart of me wonders if her relationship with the rest of Kardashian women will be just as inauthentic.

Gosh, I hope not.

Besides that awkwardness, we got to see Rob interacting with Chyna’s son, King, and we were also made aware of how dependent Rob is on Kris. I had to laugh at this because I didn’t know that his dependent behavior was that bad. He, literally, calls his mom for everything. I can definitely see why this bothers Chyna so much.

She’s a very independent person. Everything that she has, she’s gotten on her own, so for her man to be that reliant on another person, is kind of a let down. Like she said, it’s like she has another child. I definitely think that he needs to man up when it comes to taking charge of his own life. However, I can’t feel too bad for her because she knew what she was getting herself into when she started dating him.

Which brings me to my next topic: their relationship or, better yet, their engagement. Simply put, I don’t think they’re ready to be married.

The problems that they’re having are issues that NEED to be squashed before they walk down he isle. Fighting over your significant other changing the passcode to their phone or being unsure of whether or not their cheating or texting other people are things that you shouldn’t bring into a marriage. There’s no trust, so, in my opinion, they will only put more strain on the relationship, which can possibly lead to a divorce.

In addition to that, apart of me also felt like they’re incompatible. I think Chyna seems like too much woman for Rob. As I mentioned earlier, he calls his mom when a problem arises, but she seems like she would be trying to figure out ways to fix it on her own. That seems backwards to me. He’ll have to grow out of that real soon. No woman wants a man that calls on his momma every time something bad happens.

Wouldn’t you ladies agree?!

Their personalties don’t seem to mesh either because her personality overpowers his. When she’s upset she yells, screams and just throws fits and he just stands there giggling because he doesn’t know how to calm her down. In one scene, he brought her flowers to apologize for a fight that they’d had and she took them and threw them in the pool. She was highly upset and he had no idea what to do. He’s so laid back and I kind of felt bad for him because it just shows how new their relationship is. He didn’t even know how to properly kiss her.

How do you not know how to properly kiss your fiancé?! You’re about to permanently tie yourself to this person, so the least you can do is know how to give him/her a proper kiss!

I just don’t know about these two. I’m not sure if they’ll last. I mean, I know they say opposites attract and I know that this is only the first episode (and it was probably scripted), but, in my eyes, these two are just too different. They don’t seem to fit. A small part of me wonders if they’re forcing the relationship to work because she’s pregnant.

What do you guys think? Are they forcing it or do you think there’s really some love and longevity there?

Anyway, with all that being said, I will continue to watch Rob & Chyna because I’m interested in seeing how things turn out with these two. Chyna is the more dramatic of the two, so I’m looking forward to watching the drama that she’ll be sure to cause.

Let me know what you all thought of Rob and Chyna’s new show in the comment section. Will you be tuning in next week or have you already had your fill? Let me know!

Until next week!

Rob & Chyna airs on Sundays at 9 p.m. on E!.

Amira 😉

*Click here to read my review of episode 2 of Rob & Chyna

Leave a Reply

