Books / Entertainment / Review

Neighbor Dearest by Penelope Ward (Book Review)

51GSLUBDxqL

Neighbor Dearest by Penelope Ward

Page: 299

Price: $3.99 (Kindle Edition)

Rating: 5/5

Review: For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been writing reviews on pretty much every book that I’ve read, so I decided to take a break from writing reviews for a couple days. However, I enjoyed this book so much that I just had to write a review on it.

~~~~

Neighbor Dearest was amazing! It was about Damien Hennessey and Chelsea Jameson’s love story.

At the beginning of the book we find our leading lady heartbroken over a terrible breakup from her longterm boyfriend Elec (who has his own love story told in another one of Ms. Ward’s books called Stepbrother Dearest. According to the many reviews that his book gathered, his story is worth reading, but I don’t think I’ll read it just yet.).

Anyway, Chelsea ends up moving out of she and Elec’s old apartment building and into a new one and Damien ends up being her new neighbor.

He started out as being kind of a jerk. He was a sexy, broody, angry artist, who had two loud, irritating Rottweilers that made it very difficult for Chelsea to get any sleep. So, it’s safe to say that she wasn’t a huge fan of his in the beginning, but, overtime that changed. She started to realize that underneath that tough exterior was a very kind and loving man. He was so sweet and by the end of this book, he had definitely won her (and me) over with his thoughtfulness.

As for Chelsea, she was still trying to deal with the Elec situation a year after the initial breakup. She just couldn’t understand why he would leave her. To her, it seemed like things changed with them overnight and I felt really bad for her. If I were in her shoes, it would’ve taken me quite some time to be able to trust again. Elec really did a number on her and I can’t help but give him the side eye because of it.

Chelsea was definitely a sweetheart. She got the short end of the stick in her relationship with Elec, but she really lucked up in finding Damien. Ultimately, he was the one who really helped her move on from the past. She spent so much time trying to make sense of what happened and it was him who, eventually, told her to let it go. She was trying to make sense of a situation that would never really make sense.

She helped him make peace with a very important issue that he was struggling to deal with and he helped her do the same, so he was her saving grace and she was his. They were perfect for one another.

They had the same sense of humor and their inside jokes were so adorable, especially their little references to the films “The Omen” and “Firestarter.” 

Their romance was off the charts and I loved it! Ms. Ward did an amazing job writing their love story. There was so much chemistry and the words just flowed right off the page. The sex scenes are graphic, but they’re good and the things that Damien did for her and his family (i.e. the waiting room scene and the custody issue with the dogs), literally, had me saying “Awww!”

There were a couple secondary characters, but I think my favorites were The Double Ds (a.k.a. Dudley and Drewfus), who are Damien’s two dogs. They stole the show for me. They were so sweet and loving toward their masters and they also, on several occasions, brought humor to the story. I also liked Chelsea’s sister, Jade. She seemed really cool and she was always there for Chelsea whenever she was needed. I have a feeling that Ms. Ward will be writing her story next. She and Damien’s brother, Tyler, had a moment when they first met, so I won’t be surprised if the next book is theirs.

The only thing that I don’t really care for is the fact that Tyler has a “serious” girlfriend, Nicole, and I’m not really down for the whole leaving one girl for another thing. It kind of creates the same situation that happened with Chelsea and Elec. Someone (probably Tyler’s girlfriend) is going to end up getting hurt.

The book hasn’t come out yet, so I could be wrong, but if Jade and Tyler do get together, I hope that he doesn’t just toss Nicole aside for Jade.

Overall, this book was amazing and I recommend it! I think that you guys should definitely read it, if you haven’t already. However, I would recommend that you read Stepbrother Dearest first though. I wish I would’ve because, at the moment, I’m not interested in reading Elec’s story because I don’t like how he did Chelsea. If I’d read his story first I wouldn’t have this problem, but I didn’t know that he had a story out, so there’s nothing I can do about it now.

Things worked out on both ends, so I am happy about that and I loved the surprise that Ms. Ward added toward the ending of this book. I was so happy for Chelsea and Damien that I nearly cried. Anyway, please read this book. I promise that you won’t regret it!

For those of you who’ve already read Neighbor Dearest, what did you think of it? Did you like it as much as I did? Let me know in the comment section? You can also add in your thoughts on Stepbrother Dearest, but please be cautious because I do plan on reading it, at some point.

Happy reading!

Amira 😉

Please Note: This book was not given to me. I purchased it myself and, whenever I’m given an ARC, I will always let you know at the beginning of my review. 

Leave a Reply

