Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Netflix’s ‘Stranger Things’ Is Strangely Addicting (Show Review)

 

Stranger_Things_logo

The logo for ‘Stranger Things.’ I do not own the rights to this photo!

My cousin (Hi, Tay!) posted about Stranger Things a couple days ago on Facebook and I brushed it aside because I figured that the show was horror. And if there’s one thing to know about it me, it’s that I don’t like anything horror. I don’t watch horror shows, movies and I most defiantly don’t read horror novels. I am a wuss and I’m not ashamed to admit it because I like sleeping at night. Don’t judge me!

However, I kept seeing people on Twitter, YouTube and Facebook posting/talking about how great the show was and it kind of got me intrigued, so I decided to text my cousin and ask her what the show was about. She gave me the gist of what the series was about and she said that if I’m not into science fiction (scifi) then this wouldn’t be for me.

I like watching the Scifi Channel. I don’t mind movies with weird or not ordinary creatures, like Arachnophobia, The Anaconda series and Lake Placid. I also don’t mind watching thrillers or slasher films, like Scream and Chucky franchise. So, there are some ‘scary,’ films that I will watch, so I’m not too bad.

However, I wouldn’t watch movies, like the Jeepers Creepers films, any film that involves characters like Freddy Krueger and any film that involves possessions, exorcisms or demonic characters. I know that I don’t like films these because I’ve watched films like them in the past. So the whole “don’t knock it ’til you try it” thing isn’t relevant here.

After talking to her, I was starting to think that maybe the show wouldn’t be too bad, so I decided to watch the first episode and, if it was too much for me, then I would stop.

Well, it wasn’t and one episode turned into eight and before I knew it, the season was over.

That show was amazing! I was so anxious to find out what was going on that I watched the whole season in a day. I was engrossed in the plot, the mystery, the characters and all the crazy things that were happening in that tiny town.

I usually hate that Netflix uploads the full series all at once, but, in this case, I was so happy that I didn’t have to wait seven days to watch the next episode.

The plot was on point! It wasn’t too scary, but I did jump on several of occasions, which I actually liked. It definitely kept you on the edge of your seat and thoroughly engrossed, especially after the first few episodes.

The acting was also great. All of the actors did a great job at embodying their characters and I had no problem believing their acts.

Winona Ryder (played Joyce Byers) did an impeccable job of playing a frantic mother in search of Will Byers (played by Noah Schnapp), her little boy. However, my favorite out of all the characters was the group of little boys: Mike Wheeler (played by Finn Wolfhard), Dustin Henderson (played by Gaten Matarazzo) and Lucas Sinclair (played by Caleb McLaughlin). Their characters were pretty much the center of the show, so we got to see a lot of them and they were hilarious. They definitely brought a ton of humor and some puppy love to the show.

When you start Stranger Things you will not be able to stop until you’ve reached the end. You will be glued to, not only your seat, but also to your tv screens because of a strange desperation to figure out who or what’s behind Will’s disappearance.

A second season hasn’t been confined yet, but I really hope that they do confirm one soon. I’ve heard so many great things about this show, so I would be very surprised if Netflix doesn’t order another season.

The writers/directors did leave a couple things open, so I do believe that we’ll see another season around this time next year.

But, anyway, I want to hear about what you guys though of Stranger Things? Did you like it, did the events that took place scare you and what was your favorite part? Mine was the ending, of course. Even though it left me with some questions, I still loved it. Also, let me know who your favorite character(s) was. I’ve already told you who mines were, so I’m curious to know who you guys gravitated toward.

I’m telling you, if you haven’t watched this show, then you’re missing out! Stranger Things is set in the early 80s, so in addition to seeing a great show, you’ll also get a look at how bizarre fashion, gaming, music and home decor was back then.

Go watch and let me know what you think!

Amira 😉

 

UPDATE: There will be a season 2 of Stranger Things. It is set to release in 2017.

One thought on “Netflix’s ‘Stranger Things’ Is Strangely Addicting (Show Review)

  1. Pingback: Why Am I Always Late to the Party?! (Chat) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

