Books / Entertainment / Review

Goodnight Sweetheart, Goodnight by Alex Kinkard (Book Review)

*I was given a reader’s copy of this book for an honest review.

cover93673-medium

Goodnight Sweetheart, Goodnight by Alex Kinkard

Page: 112

Price: $2.99 (Kindle Edition)

Rating: 4.5/5

Review: If you found out that you (and the rest of the human race) only had 18 hours to live, what would you do? How would you spend your final hours of life and who would you spend it with?

Have you ever thought about it? No? Well, me either, but what if you HAD to think about it? What if you HAD to make those decisions? What would you do to make it to those people and/or that place and how would you come to terms with your impending death?

Our world isn’t coming to an end, so we’re fine, but the characters in this novella weren’t as lucky. They were forced to make those decisions and tagging along as everything played out was pretty intense and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

~~~~

Nan Morris, an 18 year old college student, is lost and alone. She has travelled countless hours to her childhood home, only to find it deserted. She quickly comes to the realization that her mom and stepdad have left town without her.

Even though she and her mother didn’t have the best relationship (it was terrible, actually), she at least thought that her mom would’ve waited for her. But, she didn’t and now Nan is adrift. She has nowhere to go and no-one to turn to. So, now what?

I felt so bad for Nan at this point. Just the thought of dying alone is so scary, so I can only imagine what was going through her head.

At this point, Nan decides to leave her home. She had very few good memories there, so why stay? She walks around town taking in the sights and reminiscing on the past, which was probably something that I would’ve done. You never really appreciate something until it’s too late. Not saying that Nan appreciated that town because she didn’t (at all!), but when you find out that something is going to be taken from you or you’ll never get an opportunity to see something or someone again, you kind of want to go there and just sit. You take it all in and think of the good times and/or get your fill of it before it’s gone.

Nan continued to walk the town and it was going good for a while, but, of course, all good things must come to an end. She runs into some trouble, but before any damage was truly done, she was saved by someone that she least expected: Dean Knight, her stepbrother and her nightmare.

Dean and Nan have history. She blames Dean for ruining her life and I get it, but, I don’t think I’d go so far to say that he ruined her life. I think if he’d been honest about what really happened between them, he could’ve saved her a ton of heartbreak and he definitely could’ve made her stay in that town a lot easier.

There was a tiny bit of bad blood between these two (on Nan’s end), but they ended up spending the last few hours of their lives together and it was very touching.

Dean got Nan to open up and to be a little more spontaneous. She said on a couple of occasions that she wished that she’d done more, so, with what little time that they had left, he made sure that she did. They were also able to get everything straightened out between them and they were finally able to be together without worrying about what her mom, his dad and their neighbors would say. It’s amazing how fast you can make peace when you know that death is right around the corner.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. I thought that the plot was very unique and, even thought it was a little wordy and I found myself skimming some paragraphs, I’m glad I read it. The further you read, the more intense this story gets, so be prepared and if you’re a crybaby, like me, you might want to have some tissues ready. You’re not going to be bawling your eyes out, but I did shed a couple tears toward the end.

The way that this book ended was so bittersweet. I was happy with the way things turned out, but, at the same time, I wasn’t. I’m still thinking about that ending and I finished this book almost a days ago.

Goodnight Sweetheart, Goodnight isn’t very long, so it could’ve easily been read in a couple hours, but since I had to work, it took me an additional hour, hour and a half to complete. It’s also currently available for purchase, so you guys should definitely check it out.

If you do decide to purchase, please come back and let me know what you thought of Nan and Dean’s story.

Also, let me know what you guys would’ve done in that situation. Who would you would’ve wanted to spend your last 18 hours with and what would you and that person (or those people) do? Party? Read? Watch tv? Watch movies? Talk? Play games? Let me know.

Happy reading!

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

