Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.1 Review)

 

Cn_0eJAXYAISfNx.jpg-large

Bottom, left to right: Mani, Mini Barbie, Jermaine Dupri, Lil Key and Tally. Top, left to right: Prince of New York, Nia Kay and Jayla Marie. Photo Credit: Jermaine Dupri Twitter.

The wait is finally over because The Rap Game is back!!

If you’re confused and don’t know what The Rap Game is, than continue to read because I’m going to catch you up. So, The Rap Game is an hour long non-scripted show that follows a handful of young hip hop artists. The whole point of the show is for the kids to compete for the opportunity to be singed to Jermaine Dupri’s record label, So So Def. The kids are all between the ages of 11-16 and they’ve all gotten some type of attention via social media, which explains how they got Jermaine’s attention to begin with.

Each week, Jermaine gives the kids a challenge or task and he uses their performance in said task to determine their rank on his “Hit List.” The Hit List is Jermaine’s scoring system and he places each rapper in a place on that list. He uses a number system, so he ranks them from 1-5 (1 being the best, 5 being the worse).

As you already know, this isn’t the first season of this show, so if you’d like to find out what happened during the first season, please feel free to read the reviews that I’ve posted on that season. That’s pretty much it!

So, now that you’re all caught up, let’s get back to tonight’s episode.

For season 2, Jermaine brought in 7 young rappers, instead of 5, and the amount of talent that those kids brought to the table was astronomical. The attitude and flow that some of these kids had was amazing and I can definitely see why Jermaine and their followers flock to them. But, first, let me introduce the rappers.

  1. Lil Key, 16; Baltimore, MD
  2. Nia Kay, 14; Chicago, IL
  3. Tally, 16; Nashville, TN
  4. Mani, 16; Los Angeles, CA
  5. Mini Barbie, 13; Atlanta, GA
  6. Prince of New York, 14; Brooklyn, NY
  7. Jayla Marie, 11; Staten Island, NY

This episode started off similar to last season’s premiere. The kids (and their managers/parents) met one another and, right out the gate, were presented with their first challenge: they had to rap in front of Jermaine and a group of his industry friends, two of which were rapper and actress, Da Brat, and record producer and rapper, Timbaland.

Performing in front of a group like that is nerve-racking enough, but, before they were even able to show what they had, Jermaine dropped another bomb on them: at the end of this challenge, 2 of them would be going home, which would leave him with only 5 rappers. I was so nervous for them and I was hoping and praying that they would all kill it, but, of course, no one’s perfect, so there were some that did better than others.

This was the first time that we, the viewers, were able to see what each artist could do and, after watching the performance, I was very impressed with Nia Kay and Lil Key. I thought that she had a really good flow and her attitude was on point. She even had Timbaland bouncing in his seat. Lil Key had attitude too, but his was a different type of attitude. He mentioned that people always say that he’s an aggressive rapper and he definitely is. He went first and did great, so he set the bar for everyone else.

After everyone rapped, Jermaine started selecting the artists that he wanted to keep. He selected his 5 and decided to give someone another chance, which means that he only ended up eliminating 1 rapper at the end of the first challenge. Everyone (except for the 1 that got eliminated) was happy, but Jermaine still had a problem. He still only had 5 rooms in the house, so he still needed to send one more person home, so to solve that problem he gave them another challenge.

They had about a day to write a rap explaining why they’re better than their competition. Sounds easy right? Well, it was, until they were told that they would be performing in front of Snoop Dogg. Wow! I would’ve been seating bullets. He is so intimidating and, throughout all of their performances, Snoop was watching them like hawks. He has this really intense stare that just throws people off and he definitely threw some of the kids off because there were some slip ups.

I have to say that I was disappointed in majority of the performances in this challenge because I didn’t feel that they did what Jermaine asked. Their was one person that did what he asked, but I wasn’t feeling their flow. The lines were there, but the delivery wasn’t, so, overall, I wasn’t happy with this task. I wish they would’ve done better.

The ending of this task brings us to the hit list. I agreed with the placement that Jermaine chose and, although I felt bad for the person that he eliminated, I understood why he did it. I think that final challenge was the nail in that person’s coffin. They did good on the first challenge, but, I think, Snoop really threw them out of their zone. It’s unfortunate, but it happened and I hope that person continues to pursue their dream.

Overall, this episode was good and I can’t wait for the rest of the season. I already have in mind who I think will win, but I’m going to keep that quiet until I see more of what they can do.

What did you guys think of the season 2 premiere of The Rap Game? Did you like it as much as I did and, if so, who do you think will win? Let me know in the comment section.

The Rap Game airs on Fridays at 10 p.m. on Lifetime.

Amira 😉

Please Note: I added links to their Twitter and YouTube channels, but, for Prince of New York, I linked to a video that I found of him rapping because I couldn’t find his actual channel. I just found a bunch of videos that he featured in. 

**Click here to read my review of season 2, episode 2 of The Rap Game. 

2 thoughts on “Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (S2 Ep.1 Review)

  1. Pingback: Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (Reunion Review) | Real Talk 4 U

  2. Pingback: Jermaine Dupri’s Rap Game (Season Finale Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

