Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

EJNYC (Ep.5 Review)

Tonight was a vacation episode. EJ took everyone on vacation to St. Martin and, of course, the trip was filled with a bunch of drama, but before I talk about all the petty drama, I want to talk about some heavy stuff.

EJ’s friend, Drew, had a kidney transplant when he was 19 and he was advised not to drink excessively, but by him being around friends who do drink, its made him less receptive to his doctor’s orders. He got so drunk during this episode. Kyle even had video of him laying in the sand in a drunken stupor. It was pretty frightening.

I’m going to be honest and say that I don’t know what type of damage excess drinking can cause for a kidney, but I do remember a couple episodes ago he got so sick from drinking that he had to go to the hospital and, once again, his doctor told him to slow down with his drinking. I think EJ was present during that appointment and he looked really shocked because he never told her how bad things had gotten.

I know when you’re young you want to live your life on your own terms, but, for his sake, I hope he gets his drinking under control because he seemed like he was worrying EJ and the rest of his friends during this episode. They even tried to stop him from drinking a couple times. It didn’t work, of course, but they were all showing true concern for his condition and he just wanted them to forget about it and move on. Eventually, he started to get the hint and I hope he keeps the promise he made at the end of this episode.

Ok. Now that we’re done with the heavy stuff, let’s talk about the petty stuff (That rhymed!).

Much to the dismay of the rest of the group, Elisa ended up bringing her new boy toy on the trip. She clung to him the whole time and annoyed pretty much everyone, including her best friend, Samaria, who come on the trip to spend time with Elisa. I don’t blame Samaria for being a little peeved because I would’ve been annoyed too. Samaria should’ve just brought her boyfriend. At least then she wouldn’t have minded Elisa’s absence.

I’m not surprised that Elisa got defensive when Maya asked her about moving on so fast, but I do hope that, eventually, she’ll learn to be alone with herself. You know, like EJ (and me). We both LOVE spending time with ourselves. It’s pretty relaxing, at times, and I’m sure it’s not healthy for her to hop from relationship to relationship.

Nick ended up surprising Maya on the trip as well and that caused some tension with EJ. Sanaz also had drama with Nick and Maya, which I’m not surprised about because she doesn’t get along with majority of the group and, if she’d said to me what she’d said to Maya, I would’ve been upset too. Sanaz always manages to rub someone the wrong way. I think it’s because she’s used to people sucking up to her and being the center of attention and she, clearly, isn’t going to get that in this group, so their personalities clash as a result.

There were also other clashing personalities. Apparently, Drew, and a couple of EJ’s other friends, aren’t fans of Kyle. They think he’s an opportunist, who is using EJ for what he can get. I didn’t catch that vibe, but, then again, we only see what the producers and directors want us to see, so there may be quite a few things that we miss.

Overall, the episode was okay. It went by pretty fast, but it was entertaining. They had a whole bunch of petty drama that could’ve easily been solved, but they were all probably doing it to create drama for the show.

Next week is the season finale of EJNYC (that was fast!), so, before we see the finale, I’m curious to know how you guys like or dislike the season, so far?

EJNYC airs Wednesdays at 9 p.m. on E!.

Amira 😉

 

Leave a Reply

