Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

BET’s Music Moguls (Show Review)

CmFk9NuVYAEfgCx

I do not own the rights to this photo. Photo Credit: Jermaine Dupri’s Twitter

A new show premiered tonight and it’s all about music.

The show is called Music Moguls and it follows four very successful individuals. The hour long show gives the viewer the opportunity to follow each mogul around as they conduct business.

But, before I tell you more detail about the show, I’m going to introduce you to the cast.

  1. Bryan “Birdman” Williams: Birdman is a rapper, producer and entrepreneur. He and his brother, Slim, are responsible for starting Cash Money Records at the age of 19.
  2. Snoop Dogg: Snoop Dogg is a rapper, actor and entrepreneur.
  3. Damon Dash: Damon Dash is a director, actor, producer and entrepreneur. He’s also responsible for co-founding Roc-A-Fella Records with Jay Z and Kareem Burke.
  4. Jermaine Dupri: Jermaine Dupri is a hip hop recording artist, songwriter and music producer. Recently, he came out with a show called The Rap Gamewhere he had five young rappers compete for the opportunity to be signed to his record label, So So Def.

During the first episode, we got to see Birdman get ready to launch his new artist, Jacquees; Snoop Dogg meet with his team in preparation to launch his new website, Merryjane.com; and Jermaine Dupri meet a new artist. Each mogul had something different going on with their businesses, so it was interesting to see how they conduct themselves in a business environment.

This show will give people an inside look at what it really means to be successful in the entertainment industry, so it’s definitely worth the watch.

As I said earlier, they all bring their own dose of spice to show, but Damon’s dose of spice is a little too spicy for me. He has a very off putting personality and I cringe every time he talks to someone else on screen. I got the same vibe when he starred in WE tv’s Growing Up Hip Hop. It’s just painful watching him talk to other people because you never know how he’s going to react. If you’ve watched the episode, than that awkward conversation between him and Jermaine Dupri is what I’m talking about. I cringed during the whole scene.

Snoop Dogg was very laid back. He’s down to laugh and have a good time, especially if he can bring some marijuana along. He and Wiz Khalifa are getting ready to go on tour together and we got to see them shoot a video for Snoop’s new album and promote said tour. Birdman, surprisingly, is the wise one. Throughout the whole episode, he was giving some really good advice. A couple of his quotes were really insightful and Jermaine Dupri was the cool one of the bunch. He has this calm demeanor that just puts you at ease.

During his segment, we got to see him meet with a young artist by the name of Carson Lueders. Carson met and sang for Jermaine and he decided to work with him. We’ll get to see more of them working together as the season furthers. I’m especially interested in that because I hope to be breaking into the entertainment industry myself really soon.

Overall, the show was really good, so I’ll be tuning in for the rest of the season.

What did you think of Music Moguls? Did you like it as much as I did and, if so, what was your favorite part? Let me know.

Music Moguls airs on Tuesdays at 9 p.m. on BET.

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: If you want to know more about each of the moguls, click here. Also, can anyone answer this question: What’s the difference between hip hop and pop? I just thought that this was interesting. Jermaine Dupri asked Carson Lueders this question. I have my answer, but I’m curious to hear yours.

3 thoughts on “BET’s Music Moguls (Show Review)

  1. Pingback: F in Fabulous (Show Review) | Real Talk 4 U

  2. The difference between hip hop and pop????.. Tell me what you think Amira. As for dame dash and his response towards jermaine depri was well deserved for Damon dash is the man just not the man of the hour. Damon dash is from Harlem. Enough said. You’ll never predict actions of a Harlem bred man, but jermaine is just corny on many levels..good business man but corny at the end of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Other than the presence of rap in hip hop, I think the difference between the two lies within the music itself. I can’t exactly put it into words, but I can definitely hear the difference in the songs. I also think that pop is more mainstream than hip hop is. Although you do have your mainstream hip hop artists, like Drake. What do you think?

      I’ll have to take your word when it comes to Dame Dash and I like Jermaine. I don’t think he’s corny. Lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

