Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

2016 BET Awards’ Prince Tribute

Jennifer Hudson singing "Purple Rain" during the 2016 BET Award's Prince tribute on June 26. Photo Credit: USA Today

Jennifer Hudson singing “Purple Rain” during the 2016 BET Award’s Prince tribute on June 26. Photo Credit: USA Today

BET paid tribute to Prince at the 2016 BET Awards and it was a little different that what I was expecting. In the past, the tributes have all been about 10-15 minutes long and the artists usually sing the songs right after one another, but this tribute was different.

Instead of the tribute happening during one point in the show, the directors had the artists perform Prince’s songs all throughout the show. I liked that because it was like they dedicated the whole show to him. Instead of celebrating his music for about 15 minutes in a 2.5-3 hour show, they celebrated him throughout the show’s duration. Prince and his music was sprinkled all throughout the show and I loved it.

Here’s the list of the artists that paid tribute to Prince. I also added links to the performances, so if you want to watch them, just simply click the links.

  1. Bilal – “Beautiful Ones”
  2. Erykah Badu and The Roots – “The Ballad of Dorothy Parker”
  3. Tori Kelly and Stevie Wonder – “Take Me With U”
  4. Jennifer Hudson – “Purple Rain
  5. Maxwell – “Nothing Compares 2U”
  6. Janelle Monae – “Delirious,” “Kiss,” “Pop Life,” and “I Would Die for You”
  7. Sheila E. – “Housequake,” Erotic City,” “Let’s Work,” “U Got the Look,” “A Love Bizarre,” “The Glamorous Life,” “Soul Salsa,” “America,” and “Baby I’m a Star.”

Even though I didn’t know majority of the songs that were performed, I thought all of the performers did an amazing job, but Jennifer Hudson was my favorite. She put her all into that song and, at one point, I thought that she was going to burst into tears. She sung with such emotion and she sounded amazing doing it. Jennifer did a beautiful job and I know she made Prince proud.

I didn’t watch the 2016 Billboard Music Awards, but I know a lot of people bashed them for their mediocre Prince tribute. I wonder if those same people watched BET’s tribute and, if they did, I wonder what they thought of it.

Jesse Williams accepting his Humanitarian Award at the BET Awards 2016 on June 26. Photo Credit: Billboard.com

Jesse Williams accepting his Humanitarian Award at the BET Awards 2016 on June 26. Photo Credit: Billboard.com

Another part of the show that really stuck out to me was when Jesse Williams was awarded the Humanitarian Award.

I am not familiar with Jesse because I don’t watch Grey’s Anatomy, but after watching the BET Awards, I now know that he is someone that I need to follow. His acceptance speech was so inspiriting and he made some great points about racial equality. Just from all the buzz happening on Twitter, he really inspired a lot of people (myself included). He seems like an amazing man and an amazing activist and I will definitely be following him.

What are your thoughts on BET Award’s Prince tribute? Do you think they did better than the Billboard Music Awards? Let me know in the comment section.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

