Books / Entertainment / Review

Prima Facie by Nicole Field (Book Review)

*I was given an advanced reader’s copy of this book for an honest review.

cover92278-medium

Prima Facie by Nicole Field

Release Date: June 29, 2016

Page: 17,000 words (approx. 38 pages)

Price: $1.99

Rating: 3.5/5

Review: I’d never read a transgender romance before, so when I read the synopsis for this book, I was instantly intrigued. I was curious about the ins and outs of a relationship where one of the parties in said relationship was transgendered. I’m glad that I read this book because, even though it left me with more questions than answers, I still really enjoyed it.

Prima Facie follows Con Sullivan, a transgendered man, and Maggie Huntingdale, a woman who’s in the process of divorcing her husband. Since the book was so short everything happened pretty quickly.

Both Con and Maggie’s families were rich, so Maggie’s parents recommended that she hire Con and his business partner, Kit, as her lawyers and things just moved on from there. There was one twist, but other than that everything was pretty much smooth sailing.

The romance was very quick. There was a little bump in the road, but they got things straightened out, so, overall, the book was good, but, as I said earlier, it left me with more questions than answers.

For example, during a point in the book, Con mentioned that he has to bind his breasts when he wears certain tops. He stated that it was a really “private” matter and that he didn’t even like to watch himself do it. I had a couple questions about that.

Like, if he and Maggie were to move in together, would he lock himself in a room when he binds his breast so that she wouldn’t see? And what about sexual intercourse? Would he get fully nude and, if he does, are his breasts a ‘no touch’ zone? The author didn’t mention anything about his genitals, but Con did say that he wasn’t asexual and that he did like sex, so I’m guessing he’s all good in that aspect.

It just seemed like Con had a particular way of doing things and I was just curious as to how his routine would change once he and Maggie became a lot more serious. His appearance when he leaves the house was on point, but what about when he’s home and he isn’t wearing a perfectly tailored suit that fits his body just right? He’s a lot more vulnerable, so how would that affect their relationship? I would’ve loved to have read about that.

I felt like the length really took away from the book. With maybe a hundred or so more pages, Ms. Field could have really given up a lot more detail.

But, as I said earlier, the book was good. I just would have liked it more if it had been longer. But, on the bright side, I found a new genre that I am interested in reading, so now I’m on the hunt for another, more in depth, transgender romance.

If you know of any please let me know. You can leave the title and author in the comment section or you can hit me up on Twitter and if you end up buying Prima Facie come back and let me know what you thought of it.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

