Books / Entertainment / Review

Edge of Glory by Magan Vernon (Book Review)

* I was given an advance reader’s copy of this book for an honest review.

51uKz3wze1L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Edge of Glory (Friendship, Texas Book 1) by Magan Vernon

Release Date: July 12, 2016

Page: 262

Price: $0.99 (Pre-Order Kindle Edition); $2.99 (Kindle price after book’s release) $7.00 (Paperback)

Rating: 4/5

Review: I requested this book because, after reading the synopsis, it seemed like it would be something that I could enjoy and, for the most part, it was.

I like reading books that involve lead characters that come from different worlds (socially and economically speaking) because it’s interesting watching them introduce one another to a different way of life. So, with that being said, one of main reasons why this book hit home for me was because I felt like it provided that duel prospective.

Edge of Glory followed Rosalia ‘Lia’ Conti and Olympic gold medalist, Jay Morningstar’s, journey to love and I was hooked from the very first page.

Lia’s reaction to Jay when she first saw him sitting at a table in her family’s restaurant brought a giggle, but also a bit of sympathy because I probably would have reacted in the same way if I had been in her shoes. She had been a fan of his for a while (she even had a poster of him hanging in her room), so, of course, she would be at a loss for words. In my opinion, she reacted just like any other girl would’ve in that situation.

Since we’re on the subject of Lia, let’s talk about how much I liked her character. I thought she was so relatable. We had quite a few things in common. Like her, I attended community college before transferring to a university; I was a late bloomer when it came to leaving my parents’ home; and I also was constantly filling out FAFSA and scholarship/grant applications during my college years. To me, those things alone made her seem so much more real and they made me like her even more.

I also loved her personality. She was really sweet, quirky, funny and very family oriented. Since she worked in her family’s restaurant and lived with her mom, dad, nonna (grandmother), and brother, they were always in each other’s business and they brought a lot of comedy to the book, especially her older brother, Sonny.

I liked Jay’s character as well, but there was some things that he did (mainly in the later half of the book) that I didn’t like, but, overall, he was a good character and I loved some of the things that he did for Lia. He was really attentive and sweet to her and he was always willing to cater to her wants and needs.

His family is rich and because he is an Olympian, he lives in the limelight. His sister is a reality star and his father runs a successful business, so his whole family lives differently than Lia’s family does, but it was interesting watching her try to get accustomed to his family’s way of life.

Their romance was adorable as well. It was sweet and I liked that the author didn’t rush Lia and Jay’s connection. She let their feelings build up before they got really serious and although there was instant attraction, they still took their time with the heavy stuff. I know that may not seem like a big thing to some, but it really is hard to find a book where the characters don’t instantly jump into bed, so I really appreciate that aspect of this book.

The secondary characters were really good as well. They brought their own dose of comedy. I know that this is the first in a series, so I can’t wait to read Lia’s best friend, Sofie’s, story and Sonny’s story. I adored them both, so I will anxiously wait until it’s their time to shine.

However, no book is perfect, so there were a couple of actions that really bothered me and they all happened at “the wedding of the century.” I won’t give away anything to spoiler-ish, but I will say that Jay was wrong and I think Lia had every right to be upset. I also didn’t like that they made it seem like she was the one who was at fault. If I had been in her shoes, I would have been just as upset. What he did was a HUGE no-no! Even if it was just an act.

Overall, this was an amazing book and I thoroughly recommend it! I can’t wait until the next book in the series is released. I hope it’s either Sofie or Sonny’s story. Ms. Vernon did a great job with this one and I can’t wait to read more of her work.

You can pre-order Edge of Glory by simply clicking on the link above and if you choose to purchase it please come back and let me know your thoughts. Did you like it as much as I did? Let me know. I can’t wait to hear from you.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

