Chats / News

My Message to You… (A Tough Week)

The past couple days has been a really tough time for us Americans.

If you haven’t heard (which I’m sure you have), a couple of terrible things happened last weekend. The weekend started off on a bad note when YouTube singer, Christina Grimmie, was shot after a concert on Friday in Orlando, Florida and, sadly, due to the severity of her injuries, she ended up dying the following day (Saturday).

I was pretty shaken up about Christina’s death because I kind of felt like I grew up with her. I used to watch her YouTube videos all the time and when she started competing on The Voice, I was once again reminded of how talented she was. She had a phenomenal voice and I especially loved her remake of Drake’s “Hold On, We’re Going Home.” She sung the hell out of that song and it was on repeat for a while in my household.

I was really heartbroken when I found out that she passed at such a young age (she was 22) and when I found out that some deranged fan shot her, I was floored. I couldn’t understand what compelled that man to walk up to her and shoot her. What made him plan something like that?! What did she ever do to him?! I didn’t know Christina personally, but everyone who did know her has nothing but great things to say about her.

All I have left to say is that Christina will definitely be missed!

So, while everyone was trying to get over the shock of Christina’s tragic death, we were, sadly, forced to deal with another horrific tragedy.

I’m referring to the mass shooting that took place at the gay nightclub, Pulse, which was also located in Orlando, Florida.

Every morning after I get up the first thing that I do is check my social media and every tweet that I saw that morning kept referring to Orlando. At first, I thought that they were talking about Christina, but after scrolling down a little more I started to see words that I knew couldn’t relate to her. I read things like “Orlando mass shooting” and “50 dead.” I also read a couple of tweets where people were saying that this shooting was the “largest mass shooting in American history.” What?! At that point, I knew that they definitely weren’t referring to what happened on Friday, so I clicked the hashtags and eventually I was directed to a link that informed me of all that happened.

To say that I was in shock would be an understatement and, to be completely honest, I don’t know what I felt because I didn’t know what to feel. All I knew was that, once again, someones hatred got the best of them.

This man actually walked into Pulse and shot at all those people. He took so many lives that night and left so many people injured. Not just physically, but mentally as well.

I want to be completely honest with you guys. I am so sorry for all the suffering that the families of those that were lost are dealing with. I wasn’t going to post anything about this, at first, because I didn’t really know what to say about it and, also, so many people have already touched on this and I don’t want to be repetitive, but I just couldn’t not say anything.

I know that if you’re reading this post than you’ve probably already heard everyone say “I’m sorry” or “Those families are in my prayers” or “I’m praying for Orlando,” but, really, that’s all that we can say. I honestly don’t know what I could do to make any of this better. You can’t make it go away and you can’t make it disappear, so what do you do? You pray and you let those families and the whole city of Orlando know that they’re in your prayers. You let them know that you know that you acknowledge and respect their hurt.

To Orlando: I want you to know that I recognize your hurt and that I’m hurting with you because, even though those tragic shootings happened in Orlando, the whole United States was affected. I was affected. I want you to know that you really are in my prayers and that I am also praying for a better today, a better tomorrow, and a better future. I’m praying for a better America. I’m praying for love and not hate! I’m praying for a time when we can all live in peace and if there is a disagreement than fine, let’s agree to disagree. Let’s not let violence, of any kind, solve our problems for us because, honestly, violence never really solves a problem. It just creates more and the last thing we need in this world is more problems.

Let’s spread love, guys! No more hate, please!!

Amira 😉

*I hope that I didn’t offend anyone with this post and, if I did, please know that that wasn’t my intention.

One thought on “My Message to You… (A Tough Week)

  1. Pingback: “Orange Is the New Black” is Back! | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

