Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Famously Single (Show Review)

famously-single-group-zoom-06691060-21fe-4936-9d31-0abe4a1d6716

I don’t own the rights to this photo.

A new reality series premiered on E! tonight and it was interesting enough. It wasn’t great, but, then again, it wasn’t terrible either.

The show is called Famously Single and it follows eight celebrities as they try to navigate a path to love while, simultaneously, being in the limelight. Before I get into my thoughts, I want to introduce the celebs and give you guys a little bit of background on each one.

  • Let’s start with the celebrity that I’m most familiar with: Aubrey O’Day. You guys will probably recognize her from being in P. Diddy’s all girl group, Danity Kane. But, in addition to being apart of Danity Kane, she has also modeled for a couple magazines and she’s featured in quite a bit of other reality tv shows as well. I was a fan of Danity Kane, so I mostly know Aubrey through her music.
  • I am also pretty familiar with Pauly D. I was a really big fan of Jersey Shore, so I know who he is. I hadn’t seen him since JS ended, so I’m quite interested to see how this show pans out for him (though, if you keep up with your entertainment news, you should already know how this show worked out for him). Pauly is also a well known DJ.
  • Another celebrity that I am quite familiar with is Somaya Reece. I remember her from her Love & Hip Hop days, but I also haven’t heard from her after she left (or was fired) from that show. She looks really different from when she was on LHH and it’s not because the years have passed, it’s because of cosmetic surgery. She’s clearly had work done and it doesn’t look bad.
  • I know a tiny bit about Brandi Glanville and that’s only because I remember that drama that she had with her ex-husband and his wife (Eddie Cibrian and LeAnn Rimes). I don’t really care too much for her, but I’m interested to see what she brings to the show. Like Aubrey, she has also participated in a couple of other reality shows in the past, one of them being Real Housewives of Beverly Hills.
  • I don’t know anything about Jessica White, but she is gorgeous and I can see why she is a model. She has that whole ‘earth child’ personality. She just seems so pure and honest. I like her.
  • Because I never got into The Bachelor and The Bachelorette franchises, I am not familiar with Josh Murray. He won the 10th season of The Bachelorette and the relationship with his fiancé didn’t work out, which is why he’s now on the show.
  • I also don’t know Calum Best, but he is a model and tv personality who lives in the United Kingdom. He’s also looking to settle down and, like the others, he needs a little help. He seems cool and I hope this show works for him too.
  • And, lastly, is retired football player, Willis McGahee. I don’t watch football, so I’m not familiar with him, but I’m not sure if I like his personality, but, according to Aubrey, he’s got the biggest package that she’s ever seen. He also has 8 kids with 7 different women, so he’s, obviously, been keeping busy in that form.

The first episode was pretty good. All 8 of the celebs moved into a loft together and their therapist, Dr Darcy Sterling, had them undergo 2 tests. The first was an impromptu blind date. They went on blind dates together and they all got to talk to one another for a couple of minutes and they used those few minutes of conversation to help form their first impressions of their fellow cast mates.

There was also a point during the exercise where Aubrey said that she was “not interested” in Pauly D. I had to roll my eyes at that one. I’m not going to tell you why, but, if you really want to know, visit TMZ or check out E! News.

We also found out that Dr. Darcy will be meeting with each celeb one-on-one to discuss their past and to try to help them figure out the best way to enter into a healthy relationship. Though we probably already know about their relationship problems (because their business is constantly being aired for our entertainment), it’s interesting to hear it directly from them.

Overall, the premiere was good. I’ll watch episode two just to see how they all did during their second test.

There was a little bit of drama between a couple the ladies, but it seemed staged and petty. I mean, yea, you shouldn’t talk to people like that, but it’s not something that I would come to blows for, especially if it’s over someone that I don’t know. We can agree to disagree and, from that moment on, I’ll know where we stand, but that’s it. I’m not about to fight over some guy that I, literally, just met.

I just hope that this show isn’t filled with petty drama. If it turns out to be, then I probably won’t be watching this show for too long.

Anyways, what did you all think of Famously Single? Did you like it? Let me know in the comment section.

Famously Single airs on Tuesdays at 10 p.m. on E!.

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: Click here to read my review on episode 2 of Famously Single.

2 thoughts on “Famously Single (Show Review)

    • Lol. The public has heard of them. I know a couple of them from a couple of reality shows and music groups that were very popular when they were out. But, honestly, I think that this is just a ploy to get them back in the public eye. None of them (besides Brandi who was on Housewives of Beverly Hills) has done anything recent.

      Like

Leave a Reply

