Books / Entertainment / Review

Abducted: Alien Mate Index Book 1 by Evangeline Anderson

*I was given an advance reader’s copy of this book for an honest review.

51s2rASxzbL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Abducted: Alien Mate Index Book 1 by Evangeline Anderson

Pages: 485

Price: $3.99 (Kindle Edition); $18.99 (Paperback)

Rating: 4/5

Review: For the past couple months, I’d been desperately looking for a good alien romance to get lost in, but, sadly, I hadn’t had any luck in finding a story that I liked, so when I found out that Evangeline Anderson was getting ready to release the first book in her new series, I knew that I needed to get my hands on a copy ASAP.

I was a huge fan of her Brides of the Kindred books, so I was almost certain that I would love this new series as well. Eventually I was able to get an ARC of this new book and I was pleased with what I read.

In Abducted, after being selected out of the Alien Mate Index (AMI), an earthling named Zoe is snatched from Earth. Sarden, an alien male, arranged for Zoe’s capture because, in order to get his little sister back, he was in need of “something special” to trade and Zoe just so happened to be that special something.

From the beginning, I was so interested in how Evangeline would construct her aliens and the world that they lived in. As I said earlier, I was a fan of her Kindred series, so I was curious as to how she would build this world without repeating what she’d done in that series. I’m proud to say that she did such an amazing job of describing their looks, personalities and lifestyles that I was often left speechless and, on rare occasions, kind of grossed out at some of details that I’d read.

I also found myself wondering how she came up with a lot of the stuff that she did. For example, the descriptions of the ports and the descriptions of each species’ customs/beliefs. Those details made this book for me. It’s like I was transported to another galaxy and I loved it! This woman is so amazingly creative and I admire her talent so much!

I was also a fan of the descriptions of her lead character’s personalities. Since the book was so long, I felt like I got a good feel of both Zoe and Sarden. I liked Zoe’s character, but, toward the beginning of the book, she did a lot of things that I wouldn’t have done if I were in her shoes. She also came off as a little whinny and immature, but as the book progressed, she got better and I started to like her character a lot more.

Sarden was an amazing character as well. I liked him from the beginning and, as I read through the book, I started to feel bad for his situation. He had to choose between two people that he really cared about and, judging from the description that we were given, I would have been just as taken with him as Zoe was. He was a hottie. Zoe’s description sounded good as well. She wasn’t the typical thin woman that some people favor, but, according to Sarden, she rocked them curves!

The secondary characters were good as well, but this book was mostly focused on Zoe and Sarden, so they weren’t really present, but when they were present, I paid special attention to them though because I figured that they would soon be getting their own books.

Zoe’s two best friends, Leah and Charlotte, seemed really nice, but as I said we didn’t get to hear from them to often because they remained on Earth, so I don’t have much to say about them yet. Sarden’s sister Sellah seems really nice too and I can wait to read her story. She seemed so sweet and she desperately wants to find her own true love, so I can’t wait until she does. Sarden’s friend, Grav, also seemed like an interesting character. I liked him in this book, so I can’t wait to read about his love story as well. He was a little rough around the edges and, to me, that’ll make watching him fall in love all the more sweeter.

But, my favorite of the secondary characters were the tiny, green monkeys. They’re called “nib-nibs” and oh my gosh, I wouldn’t mind having a couple of my own. They sound so cute and the fact that they are so small that they can fit in the palm of your hand just had me saying, “Aww!” every time they were mentioned. They were definitely Zoe’s little saviors and I loved reading about them.

This book had great detail and the plot itself was pretty good. The only thing that I didn’t like about this book was that the middle of the book was slow for me. It kind of dragged and I found myself having to skim a few pages. This book was split into three parts and the third part of this book was the best. It was intense and it was over too quickly, but Evangeline did set us up for the next couple of books, so I can’t wait.

Overall, this was a good book and I recommend it. I can’t wait to read the next installment, Protected, which will be out in July 2016 and I think the third installment will be out in August 2016. I don’t know why Evangeline decided to release her books so close to one another, but I’m glad she did. I wasn’t looking forward to having to wait, minimum, a year for another installment.

This book was released today, so it’s now available for purchase. Just click the link above if you want to purchase it and, if you guys buy this book, come back and let me know your thoughts. I’m curious to know, so let me know in the comment section.

Amira 😉

2 thoughts on “Abducted: Alien Mate Index Book 1 by Evangeline Anderson

  1. Pingback: Descended: Alien Mate Index Book 3 by Evangeline Anderson (Book Review) | Real Talk 4 U

  2. Pingback: Severed: Alien Mate Index Book 4 by Evangeline Anderson (Book Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

