Chats / Entertainment / TV Shows

My TV Guilty Pleasures

As you guys may have gathered by now, I watch a lot of TV. Not just movies, but also TV shows/series’.

There are some shows that I would gladly bring up in general conversation, but there are also others that I would only mention if I was asked about them. Those are my guilty pleasures.

These are the shows that I get the most flack about watching because majority of the people that I hang out with don’t see the point in them. These are also the shows that I usually have to argue/debate with someone about because he/she believes that these shows are a disgrace in some form or fashion. I don’t want you all to think that I’m ashamed to admit that I watch these shows, because I’m not, it’s just that I get tired of having to defend/explain why I choose to watch them. I didn’t mind doing it at first, but, now, I’m tired of it.

While I do agree that there really is no real point to these shows (they’re mostly just senseless drama), I still enjoy watching them. They relax me because you don’t really have to focus to follow along and, at times, they provide really good entertainment (and background noise if you’re watching an episode that you’ve already seen).

So, with all that being said, I thought it would be fun to list my two guilty pleasures in this post to see how you guys would react to them. Do you enjoy watching them too or do you not see the point in watching them?

  • The whole Love & Hip Hop franchise (New York, Atlanta and Hollywood). I have been watching this series since it first started and I still tune in. Yes, it’s nothing but drama and some of the cast members are “ratchet” and “ghetto,” but I still watch it. It’s pretty much a given that majority of this stuff is scripted, so I take everything with a grain of salt. All the fights, relationships and some of the friendships are probably all fake, so I don’t take it seriously. I can laugh while they go in on each other on national tv and not feel like I’m responsible for their actions or that they’re actions reflect badly on me because I am a black woman and the franchise is lead by black people. I watch it for a good laugh and call it a day. I can’t tell you how many people have called me out for watching this show because “it’s ghetto” and “it makes black people look bad.” People are going to see black people they way they want to with our without this show, so I’m not going to stop watching it just to please a couple of people.
  • #RichKids of Beverly Hills is another one. It’s pretty self explanatory. The show just follows a couple of twenty-someting millionaires and billionaires showcasing their lives. They’re families were blessed with unlimited funds, so they live very lavish lifestyles. This show is just funny and interesting, to me. Their mindset and way of living is so different from mine that it’s ridiculous! At times, I am just in awe of how easy it is for them to do certain things. Penny pinching and budgeting is a non factor for them. They can afford the best, so they always get the best, which I don’t blame them for. I’d probably be the same way if I were in their shoes. I would love to walk on a car lot and, first of all, be in a good enough financial position to purchase a $100,000 car and then while purchasing said car tell the salesman to “Bill me” right before I get in my new car and drive away. And for him to actually do it!! That only happens when he knows you’re good for the money. It’s fun seeing how the other half lives. Plus, I love how dramatic they all are.

Overall, I watch (or watched) these shows for a specific reason. I know that a lot of people don’t like these shows and that’s fine, but please be respectful of my decision to watch them.

I still want to hear what you’re guilty pleasures are, so please let me know in the comment section. Also, let me know if you’ve watch (or watched) these shows and what are your thoughts on them.

Amira 🙂

A Little Extra: If you want to give these shows a try: Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta currently airs on Mondays at 8 p.m. on VH1; and Rich Kids of Beverly Hills airs on Sundays at 10 p.m. on E!.

7 thoughts on “My TV Guilty Pleasures

  1. I’ve seen more episodes of Rich Kids than I’d like to admit. Started watching it by accident and I don’t regularly watch it, but if it’s on and I don’t have anything else to watch, you can bet I’m in. It’s silly and trashy and they’re all pretty annoying, but like you said, it’s entertaining!
    My guilty pleasures for TV is literally rich trash like that. Kardashians, sometimes Real Housewives/Hockeywives…. it’s so odd to average middle-class me that I can’t help but be enthralled by it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Finally, someone who knows what it’s like to be sucked in by these shows! Lol. I watch Rich Kids every week. It’s on my DVR and everything. I also watch the Kardashians and the Housewives. I’m not as interested in the Kardashians as I used to be, but every once in a while I’ll watch an episode or two. I still keep up on the Housewives franchises though. They have so many that it’s nearly impossible not to watch at least one. However, I didn’t know that they had a Hockeywives franchise. Where and when does that come on?

      Like

  2. Pingback: EJNYC (Show Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

