Books / Entertainment / Review

We Own the Night by Ashley Poston (Book Review)

*I was given an advanced reader’s copy of this book for an honest review.

cover90342-medium

We Own the Night by Ashley Poston

Release Date: June 28, 2016

Pages: 250

Price: $3.82 (Kindle Pre-Order); $4.99 (Kindle Edition)

Rating: 5/5

Review: The first thing that caught my eye about this book was its cover. The colors on the cover of this book are so bright and eye catching that they seem to leap off the page. It’s a work of art and I am so glad that it caught my attention because behind that amazingly stunning cover was an equally amazingly stunning story that had me hooked from the very first page.

We Own the Night is a young adult, coming-of-age novel, that’s centered around a teenage girl named Ingrid North. Ingrid (or Iggy Pop or North) is a high school senior who lives in Steadfast, Nebraska. She has three best friends (Billie, LD and Micah); is considered ‘weird’ because of her eclectic tastes in sweaters; is constantly teased by her peers because she doesn’t fit in the nice little box that they want to put her in; and is also secretly a radio host that goes by the name of Niteowl.

Ingrid had my heart from the very first page because this girl is STRONG! From dementia to heartbreak to bullying. This girl dealt with it all and still managed to push through. For someone so young, she was faced with so much and I, literally, cried (with tears, snot, everything) several times while reading this book because of something that happened to her. For some reason, her peers (and life in general) just liked using her as a punching bag. She never really stuck up for herself because she was filled with so much self-doubt, but thank the heavens for best friends because they (at least two of them) always stood by her side.

Ingrid had some really amazing friends and other than her grandmother, they’re all she has. Billie was such a sweetheart and I adored him. Micah was okay. I’m not quite sure how to feel about Micah because I wasn’t a fan of some of his actions in the book, but I do understand that love can make a person do unthinkable things. So maybe I’ll cut him some slack.

But, with all that being said, I have to say thought that my favorite was LD. LD was an amazing friend and person. She was the complete opposite of Ingrid in the way that she didn’t take any crap from anyone. She wasn’t afraid to stand up for herself and I can kind of see why. You see, she was a lesbian in a small town, so you know there were quite a few people who didn’t like seeing two girls in love, so she had no choice but to develop a tough skin. Bullies run deep in that town, so she had to be able to defend herself and, in my opinion, she was Ingrid’s rock throughout this whole book (other than Grams, that is).

There was romance in this novel, but it wasn’t at the forefront of the plot. It was more of an add on to the overall story and it worked out pretty well. During her radio show, Niteowl ends up meeting a caller that she dubbed Dark and Broody. His presence starts as a nuisance, but after a few chats over the air, they start to bond. Before long, Niteowl/Ingrid starts to anticipate his phone calls and the mystery of finding out his true identity begins. The dialogue between Niteowl and Dark was adorable and funny and I could completely understand why their fanbase ‘shipped’ them.

Overall, this was a phenomenal story and I highly recommend it! The ending was sweet as pie and I was very happy with how things turned out.

I’d never heard of Ashley Poston before, but, after reading this novel, I know that she’s an author that I need to look out for. I also found out that We Own the Night has a companion novel that’s currently available for purchase, so I think that’s the next book that I’m going to get lost in.

I hope this review helped you guys out and if you purchase We Own the Night come back and let me know if you loved it as much as I did.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

