Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Wayward Pines Returns! (S2 Premiere Review)

Unknown

The second season of Fox’s hit show, Wayward Pines, premiered tonight and the first episode was ok.

The episode picks up three years after Ethan Burke’s (Matt Dillon) death and things have definitely changed in Wayward Pines (WP). For starters, the town is now being run by the “First Generation,” which are the first round of citizens to be born in WP, and Ben Burke (Charlie Tahan) is still alive and causing quite a stir.

I kind of liked that Ben is going against the grain. I was sort of worried about him last season because it seemed like he was going to jump on the bandwagon, but I think his father’s death woke him up.

Because Ethan died last season, they needed to bring in another strong male character to take his place and I think they got that with this new character, Dr. Theo Yedlin (Jason Patric). They woke him at the beginning of this episode and, of course, he starts asking questions that no-one wants to answer, so it doesn’t take him long to figure out that WP isn’t somewhere he wants to be.

I like Theo’s character, but this episode kind of reminds me of season one’s premiere episode. Once again the town of WP needs a character for a certain reason (Ethan for his leadership skills and Theo because he’s a doctor), so they decide to wake him up and he instantly starts rebelling. Although Theo is a little more subtle than Ethan was, I still think that he’ll end up rebelling and the First Generation knows it. That’s why the episode ended the way it did.

I’m glad the episode ended the way though because it provided some excitement. As I said earlier, it felt a little repetitive, but that ending makes me excited to watch episode two. I’m desperate to see what their next move will be.

Besides Ben, we got to see a couple of other familiar faces. Kate (Carla Gugino) makes and appearance and that twisted teacher, Megan (Hope Davis), is back too (sadly). I still can’t stand Megan and I will be praying for her demise because that woman is evil. Arnold Pope (Terrence Howard) also made a quick appearance.

Overall, the episode was mediocre. I’m a little disappointed because it wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be, but I’m hoping that as the season progresses, things will get better. This was just the first episode, so maybe they needed this episode to set up the rest of the season.

What did you think of tonight’s episode of Wayward Pines? Tell me what you like and disliked about it in the comments section. Also, please follow this blog so that you can be notified when I publish another post.

Wayward Pines airs on Wednesdays at 9 p.m. on Fox.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

