Chats / Entertainment / Movies

Hero vs. Hero?! Why?!

I do not own the rights to this poster.

I do not own the rights to this poster.

A couple of days ago, against my better judgment, I cracked and went to see Captain America: Civil War. And though the film was filled with plenty of action and held my attention, apart of me still hated it. Now, I didn’t hate it because it sucked, I hated it because the whole film was based around heroes fighting heroes.

In my mind, heroes don’t fight amongst each other. They team up and fight the villains. It’s supposed to be heroes vs. villains. Point blank. So, a couple of months ago, when I first heard about the Civil War movie, I was completely down to go see it because I liked the previous films, but when I found out that Captain America (CA) would be fighting against Iron Man (IM), I said, “No way. I’m not going to see that!” I didn’t see that coming. Those of you who read the comic books may not have been surprised, but I definitely was.

To me, it just didn’t seem right to have them fight against one another. CA and IM were friends and they also were both apart of The Avengers, so I knew that if they fought against one another it wouldn’t be something that all the other heroes would be able to stay out of. I knew two things: 1) When they fought their friendship would either fully end or it would be forever tarnished; or 2) Their fighting would negatively effect the relationships that the other heroes had with each other as well.

I don’t want to give away any of the plot in Civil War because I would like for you guys to experience it for yourselves, but in order of me to explain my feelings I have to give some little details away, so if you don’t want to be SPOILED, stop here.

As you all know, the heroes were split into two teams (CA and IM) and everyone was given free reign to chose their side, so as they were fighting, they all recognized that it wasn’t personal. It was just a difference in opinion. But, with all that being said, you still can’t fight someone on numerous occasions and not have someone get in their feelings or have personal opinions slightly change.

It was just a bummer to see people who once fought together go against one another. It was like watching a really amazing chapter end too soon. It was heartbreaking. Even though everything was amicable, which helped soften the blow, it still sucked because now IM, CA and their teams will never really be where they once were (in terms of trust). They’ll probably always be skeptical when it comes to the opposite team.

I do not own the rights to this photo.

I do not own the rights to this photo.

This hero vs. hero thing also happened with Batman vs. Superman. Now, that film I didn’t see. Not just because the whole h vs. h thing, but also because the critics and the audience gave it bad reviews. This film was the complete opposite of Civil War. The good reviews from critics, friends and family made me go see that one, but no one cared for Batman vs. Superman. I was thinking of renting it when it comes out on DVD just so I can say that I did see it, but I’m not sure. I might just go with my gut and leave it alone.

Anyway, like I said earlier, I did enjoy the movie. It was pretty long (almost 2.5 hours), so I probably won’t be able to watch it all the way through again, but I’ll most likely skip to the fight scenes because those were awesome. They were kicking some serious a** in that movie! I just hope that this was the last film that Marvel puts out where the heroes fight amongst one another. I think we’ve all had our fill of the hero showdown.

What do you guys think of the hero vs. hero plot? Let me know in the comment section. Also, let me know how you guys felt about Civil War and Batman vs. Superman. Do you think B vs. S is worth the DVD rental?

Amira 😉

2 thoughts on “Hero vs. Hero?! Why?!

  1. I HATE the idea of hero vs. hero. it doesn’t make sense! heroes get together to fix stuff, so the entire premise is flawed to begin with. good review

    Like

Leave a Reply

