Chats

For My Mommy… (A Mother’s Day Post)

Unknown-5

My mom always says that I rarely give her anything for Mother’s Day and, sadly, she’s right, but I want to change that this year. But, instead of giving her something materialistic, I want to give her something that’s more from the heart. She always complements me on my writing, so I thought that it would be really nice to compose a post that is dedicated to her.

I’m not quite sure how this post is going to turn out, but I hope that after she reads this she’ll know how much I love and appreciate her.

~~~~~~

My mom had me when she was in her early 20s, so she wasn’t too young, but, then again, she wasn’t too old either, and even though I wasn’t planned, she stepped up and did what was necessary to make sure that I was taken care of.

Because I was born about a month early, I had some medical complications for the first couple of months of my life. I don’t remember all that, of course, but everyone says that if it hadn’t have been for my grandfather, I would have died. So, thanks grandad. I’m not sure if I’ve ever properly thanked you for saving my life.

I’m an only child, so I never had to share my mom with anyone else (besides my dad) and because of that we are extremely close. We, literally, do everything together and she’s the one person in the world that I know I can talk to without any judgements. I also know that she will always give me solid advice (regardless of if it’s wanted). Every time I have a problem or an issue that I don’t know how to deal with, I go straight to my mom and we discuss it and come up with a solution together.

My mom is not the type of person who beats around the bush, so she’ll tell you the truth regardless and I like that. Even though sometimes the truth is hard to hear, I would prefer for her to be honest than to lie and tell me what she thinks I want to hear.

Like everyone else, I’m like my mom in some ways and in others we are completely different. I’m not athletic and I don’t have her fearless personality, but I did get my musical talents from my mom. She used to sing when she was younger and, now, she’s trying to help me break into the music industry. I know that, in a way, putting more of her hard earned money back into the music industry is hard for her because, in the past, she’s had some really bad experiences. But, she’s continuing to do it for me. She knows how bad I want to sing, so she’s putting up with this twisted industry for her daughter and I appreciate the heck out of her for that. I appreciate her putting her feelings aside for me.

I also appreciate her support throughout my college years. Those 4.5 years weren’t the easiest, but she still made sure that my schooling wasn’t effected and, now, I am a proud owner of two degrees: an associates degree and a bachelors degree.

When she brags about my degrees, she always says that we (me and her) worked so hard for them. I always joke around with her and say that I did all the hard work, but, honestly, if it wasn’t for her, I either wouldn’t have gotten those degrees to begin with or I would’ve had thousands of dollars worth of student loans to pay off.

I am extremely grateful to be one of the fortunate graduates who doesn’t owe a single cent in student loans because my mom was determined to get me though college on grants and scholarships. She accomplished that goal, so thank you so much, Mommy!

She has always and will always be in my corner, just like I’ll always be in hers. But, recently, my family laid my paternal grandmother to rest and it brought up so painful thoughts. It made me realize that no one lives forever. Eventually, we will all die. Sad, but true and I dread the day when someone close to me leaves this world.

I know that there will come a time when my mom won’t be physically with me and I dread that day, but until that day comes, I’m going to enjoy our time together. I’m going to love her and and cherish her to the fullest.

~~~~~~

f6c898a3fe91a3b2b5a25fa27a774e30

Mom, I am going to continue to get under your skin, get on your nerves and just bug the life out of you because I love you! Sometime in the near future we won’t live together, so I’m going to take advantage of you being right down the hall.

Thanks so much for being an amazing, loving and caring mom and I am grateful for all that you’ve done and will do for me. I know that I don’t tell you enough, but please know that you’re appreciated and I hope that you never stop being your funny, playful, sporty self. And as you would say: YOUS A NERD!! 

Dad, don’t feel left out because I am going to continue to bug you too. NO ONE IS EXEMPT! (*evil laugh*) 

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

