Entertainment / Movies / Review

The Huntsman: Winter’s War (Review)

Huntsman

I do not own the rights to this photo.

I finally got a chance to see the next installment in the Snow White franchise, The Huntsman: Winter’s War, and, while I wasn’t completely engrossed, I did enjoy it.

I thought that it was too long, but, still, I do think it was worth the watch.

Instead of focusing on Snow White (played by Kristen Stewart in Snow White and The Huntsman) it focused on The Huntsman (Chris Hemsworth) and his journey to defend/protect his love with Sara (Jessica Chastain) from the Ice Queen (Emily Blunt).

Although Snow White was mentioned a couple times throughout the film, we didn’t actually see her face. We also didn’t see The Evil Queen (Charlize Theron) as often either. She was present in the beginning and toward the end, but this movie mostly focused on The Huntsman (or Eric), Sara and the Ice Queen (or Freya).

Those three created a pretty interesting story and, being that I am all about romance, I loved the romance that was present between Eric and Sara. Though Freya wasn’t a good character in the film, I still had a soft spot for her. Her story broke my heart. It wasn’t hard to understand why she was the way she was.

I’m sure we’ve all seen other films that involve these actors, so I don’t think I have to say too much about how amazing their acting was. They all fully embraced their characters, especially the queens, so I don’t want to continue to bore you with my praises. I will say that Charlize is the best evil queen ever. She can play the hell out of an evil role. It’s not just her acting though, it’s the whole package: her mannerisms, the way she pronounces her words, her movements. Everything. She was just bad (in a good way) in this film. I adore her!

Since Chris and Jessica’s characters were two of Freya’s best soldiers, there was a lot of fighting. They did really good at the fighting as well. They actually looked like they knew what they were doing. I’m not sure if either of them has any type of fighting background, but, if not, whoever trained them did an amazing job.

There was also a couple dwarfs in the film that brought a couple laughs. They added some lightness to the film, which I thought was nice. There was a lot of fighting and killing, so it was nice to have a laugh every once in a while. The Huntsman dropped a couple one liners too, but he wasn’t as funny as the dwarfs.

However, it lagged quite a bit. Honestly, for films like this I would prefer to stick to the action, but I guess they had to show us some regular parts as well to add to the overall story. I just felt that, in this case, the story building was boring.

Overall, the film was good. I’d give it a 7.5 out of 10. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. I probably won’t be able to watch it all the way through again.

And although I wish it had ended differently, the action at the end of the film was intense and it actually brought tears to my eyes.

Let me know below what you thought of The Huntsman: Winter’s War. Also, a lot of people seem to think that Kristen Stewarts absence from the film is the reason why it didn’t do as well as the first film. Do you think that assumption is accurate? Let me know.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

