Books / Entertainment / Review

Worthy Mentions, Pt. 1 (Book Reviews)

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a tweet saying that I wanted to start a new  review series on this blog. This is that series.

This is part one of a series of book reviews. If you don’t know (which you probably don’t), I read a lot of books, but I go through lots and lots of books, but it’s rare that I actually fully comprehend what I’m reading.

For example, I’ll pick out a book, read the sample and be completely into it. Then, I’ll buy the book and start reading, but most of the time the book loses me. But because I refuse to waste my money, I force myself to complete it. The problem is, that when I get to the end of the book, I’m completely lost. I don’t know what I’ve just read and if asked, I wouldn’t be able to reiterate anything. I feel a huge sense of relief when I reach the end even though, technically, I’ve still wasted my money.

But, sometimes, I come across some really amazing books. This series is going to celebrate those books.

So, let’s get started.

51mB+59e8IL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_1. Right by Jana Aston

Page: 264

Price: $3.99 (Kindle Edition); $11.69 (Paperback)

Rating: 5/5

Review: I went right through this book. It was that amazing! I read it in about a day and although it’s a standalone, there are character ties to Jana Aston’s previous book, Wrong. I loved that book, too. Wrong followed Sophie and her romance with Luke and Right follows Sophie’s best friend, Everly, and her romance with Sawyer. Though I didnt expect for Sawyer to be her love interest, I still fell in love with their journey.

If you’ve read Wrong, than you know that, in that book, Everly was obsessed with her brother’s best friend, Finn. She met him when she was 6 years old and she’d always believed that they were meant to be. The only problem was that he didn’t feel the same. He’s always seen her as his best friends little sister and out of all the (outrageously funny) things that she did, his feelings for her never changed. She was content to wait for him to realize that they were meant to be, until she met his older brother, Sawyer.

This book was so funny and romantic. I loved Everly’s personality. She’s quirky and blunt as hell, but her friends and family couldn’t help but love her because they knew that she meant well. And her obsession with nail polish names was also quite interesting. She definitely wasn’t meek or shy in the slightest.

Sawyer was the ultimate alpha male and I loved him. I love male leads like him. He was so arrogant, but he did it in a sexy way. It wasn’t a turn off. I also loved that he was so much older than her. I don’t know why, but I always gravitate toward books where the lead female is a couple years younger than her love interest.

This book had everything that I adored in it. I’m curious to see which character Jana will write about next. I’m hoping it’s Chloe, Everly’s other best friend, because she seemed like she needed a little romanced in her life and, now that I think about it, she kind of reminds me of myself.

 

51nN11cJdOL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

2. Dirty: A Dive Bar Novel by Kylie Scott

Page: 289

Price: $4.99 (Kindle Edition); $9.69 (Paperback)

Rating: 4/5

Review: When I first found out that Kylie Scott had released a new book, I was excited and when I found out that it was the first book in a new series, I was even more excited. I loved Kylie’s Stage Dive series, so I was familiar with her style of writing and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book, but, if I’m being completely honest, this book started off pretty slow for me. There were several times when I considered giving up on it, but I didn’t and I’m glad I stuck with it.

The book started off with the female lead, Lydia, finding out, on her wedding day, that her fiancé was, in fact, gay and having an affair with his best man. So, in my opinion, she did what any other bride would have done in that situation: she ran. But, she ran right into the arms (or bathroom) of the male lead, Vaughan.

I liked both of the characters. Lydia seemed like a cool chick. For someone who wasn’t used to being around a lot of people, she did really good at making friends and I can see why. She was very funny and even though she didn’t know Vaughan; his sister, Nell; and any of his other friends, she made it a point to be there for them, so, in turn, she built some really sturdy friendships in a short amount of time.

I liked Vaughan as well. Besides his looks (which was described to a T, with and without clothes), he seemed like a good person to have in your corner as well. Although he spent majority of the book planning his getaway, he seemed to really care for his friends. He (and Lydia) both had some obstacles that they needed to overcome before they were able to finally realized where they needed to be. He took a little longer than Lydia, but, eventually, he got there.

There is sex in this book and it’s not implied. Kylie describes everything, so beware if that’s not something you’re into. I don’t mind sex scenes because I think that if they’re handled right, they can add to the story and the scenes in this book did just that.

Overall, this book was pretty good. Like I said earlier, it started off slow, but it picked up and I read right through it.

At the end of the book, the reader is informed that the second book in the series, Twist, will be released soon. It involves one of Vaughan’s friends, so, hopefully, while reading his story, we’ll be able to check up on Lydia and Vaughan.

Amira 😉

*Please Note: If you have any recommendations, please let me know. I’m always looking for new novels and authors, so don’t be afraid. I mostly read romance novels, but I’m open to other genres. Also, in the future, these posts won’t be this long. The only reason why this one is so long is because I explained the series in the beginning. That won’t happen in the next part. 

Leave a Reply

