Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

MTV’s Suspect (Finale Review)

The season finale of Suspect aired tonight and I think it was perfect timing. As I said in my pervious post, the show was starting to get repetitive. A couple of the guests had very similar stories and revelations, which took away a lot of the excitement that I’d originally had for the show. Also, the layout for the episodes didn’t differ.

Every episode played out the same. There was no drama that even hinted at a possible fork in the road. I didn’t expect a full blown fight to break out or anything, but I would have liked to have seen some type of intensity.

Case 1: In Pomona, CA, Nev and iO met a man named Dimitri, who expressed some concern for his friend and frat brother, Brian. According to Dimitri and a couple of their other frat brothers, Brian had been absent from the frat house for a couple months. They described him as being the life of the party. He was always the one to bring the fun and he attended almost every party, so everyone found it odd that they hadn’t seen him around. They also said that he would often travel out of town and post IG photos of his excursions, but the thing that they found odd was that all the people that commented on his pictures were people that they (the frat brothers) didn’t know. Dimitri started to assume that Brian had developed some kind of addiction because, as I said earlier, he loved to have a good time, so he was no stranger to alcohol.

I actually guessed Brian’s secret. A couple of other guests revealed the same thing in past episodes, but I still enjoyed the case. It’s something that a lot of people have gone through or are still going through, so I’m sure tons of viewers will be able to relate to Brian and his situation. After watching this case, it makes me realize that we, as people, really need to be more aware of what we say because you never know who may be listening and how your words may be effecting them.

Case 2: This case took place in Colorado. Nev and iO met with Alicia, who was concerned for her best friend, Chaz. According to Alicia, Chaz, a very upbeat, happy person, had been acting withdrawn and depressed. She also said that she had seen cuts on his arms (around the wrist area) and she told a heartbreaking story about how, one day, he had to leave early from work because he broke down.

This case was pretty sad (but good) and when the truth was revealed, I actually wanted to give Chaz a hug because he looked so defeated. I get that he was still struggling with his situation, but he just looked like he needed a really good, long hug. I can kind of understand where he is coming from because a couple of my family members had actually been in his shoes, so I know it’s not an easy thing to deal with.

I enjoyed this episode and I think it was a great case to end the season with.

Overall, I think that the show was pretty good. When the season first started, I was so excited because I had never seen anything like it. Now, I still like it, but I think that for next season (if there is a next season) they should try to switch things up. I know doing that for a show like this will be hard, but I definitely think that it needs to be done.

What did you think of the first season of Suspect? Tell me all your thoughts and feelings in the comment section and follow this blog, so that you can receive emails whenever I post anything new (and there will be lots on new posts).

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: Did any of you watch Scream: The TV Series? It aired last year on MTV and it was supposed to pay tribute to the film series. Well, if you did and if you’re interested, it’s coming back for a second season on May 30.

I liked the first season, so I will be checking out the second. Will you be tuning in?

Leave a Reply

