Chats / Entertainment / TV Shows

Is Empire Losing Its Touch?

CaeJeHWWIAAZU-r

I do not own the rights to this poster.

 

For the past few months, I’ve been hearing (and reading) about how disappointed viewers have become at the plot lines that have been presented on Fox’s hit tv show, Empire.

I, personally, have no problems with the show. There may be a couple things that I was confused about (like, how Jamal (Jussie Smollett), who identifies as a gay man, was able to sleep with a woman) or other things that I wish the writers and directors would have let play out for a longer period of time (like, Hakeem’s (Bryshere Y. Gray) struggle with PTSD, which he was able to get over very quickly without any help), but, besides those things, I’m okay with Empire.

One person that I talked to said that she just couldn’t believe the plot lines. The show seems fake. According to her, the things that are happening seem scripted. Lucious (Terrence Howard) was indestructible in the first season. He was always 10 steps ahead of the game, but, in the second season, all of a sudden, he is easily pushed aside. He was, literally, fighting for his life in the first season and he still managed to stay on top of everything. What happened to that Lucious? What happened to always being on top of everything and everyone (get your head out of the gutter. I didn’t mean it like that)? She also said that she was even starting to tire of Cookie (Taraji P. Henson) and her antics.

Now, we all have to watch Hakeem do a job that I personally think he isn’t capable of doing. He is going to have a couple of mishaps in the coming episodes and I’m sure he’ll have to prove himself to his family. He kind of already did with the whole Camilla (Naomi Campbell) thing, but I know Lucious is never going to stop gunning for him, especially if he’s still the CEO, so he better watch his back.

I did some research and I found an article that compared season one’s ratings and viewers to season two’s and, while there isn’t a huge difference, season two does have lower ratings and less viewers. I don’t really know much about ratings, but I do know that being in the negative isn’t good. I don’t think the numbers are big enough to cancel the show, but it is enough to raise a couple eyebrows and, hopefully, the writers and directors are paying attention to what the viewers are saying.

As I said earlier, I like the show, but I don’t really care for the music. I like it enough not to fast forward while they are performing, but I wouldn’t spend money on it. I also think that Terrence Howard can’t rap. While Lucious was in jail and he recorded that song, all I kept thinking was, “No.”

My mother isn’t a fan of Jussie Smollett’s voice. She says it reminds her of Aaron Neville. I have no idea who that is, but I think it’s hilarious because every time he sings on the show, she says, “You can fast forward this, if you want.” I don’t, of course, because I don’t have a problem with his voice, but it’s just something that makes me chuckle.

Anyway, I just thought I would write a post about this because, when I found out about it, I was shocked. This show was on everyone’s ‘Must Watch’ list, so I was just surprised that so many people are falling out of love with it.

What are your thoughts? How do you feel about Empire? Do you think its lost it touch or is it still on your ‘Must Watch’ list? Let me know in the comments.

Amira 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

