Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

ABC Premieres New Series (The Catch Review)

The_Catch_ABC

Photo Credit: ‘The Catch’ Wikipedia Page

 

The ABC Network added a new show to their TGIT lineup. The show, which is produced by Scandal and How to Get Away With Murder’s own, Shonda Rhimes, is a crime drama that is involves a very flirty game of catch and mouse between the two main characters.

The Catch is centered around Alice Vaughan (Mireille Enos), a successful private investigator, who ends up getting conned by her fiancé, Christopher Hall (Peter Krause). After getting the information that he and his team needed from her company, his partner Margot Bishop (Sonya Walger) decided that it was time for Christopher to disappear, so, with a little bit of resistance on his part, he did what she commanded.

Now, at this part of the episode, it became clear that Christopher actually cared for Alice or, at the least, cared for the normal life that he could’ve had with her. He was pressured by Margot and another one of his partners, Reginald ‘Reggie’ Lennox III (Alimi Ballard) to leave her. You can only guess that when Alice comes home and finds all of his belongings gone, she panics. She calls his phone and gets no answer. Then she visits his office space and finds that empty as well. She’s heartbroken and runs back to her coworkers: Valerie Anderson (Rose Rollins), Danny Yoon (Jay Hayden) and Sophie Novak (Elvy Yost).

They try to comfort her and eventually put all the puzzle pieces together. It turns out that he’s the con man that they’ve been searching for. He has stolen money from a couple of her clients and he also took millions of dollars from her as well. She realizes that her relationship wasn’t what she thought it was and she is livid. She makes it her personal mission to find him.

I don’t want to give out too many details because I want you guys to actually watch the show, but I will tell you that this show reminds me of Scandal and How To Get Away With Murder because of the strong female leads. I love that about those shows and I love it about this one too. Alice seems like she is amazing at her job, like Annalise and Olivia, so I know that she’ll find this guy and make him pay for what he did to her.

She and her team already outsmarted him once (you’ll see what I mean after you watch the episode), so I know they’re capable of handling him and his twisted team.

Overall, I liked the first episode. It intrigued me and I was wondering how Alice would get caught up and now I’m going to stay tuned to see how she gets her payback. Judging by the way the episode ended, this is going to be a back and fourth thing between Alice and Christopher (or whatever his real name is).

I’ll be invested for, at least, the first season, but I think the writers are going to have to come up with some very good twists to keep things interesting past that because the whole ‘cat and mouse’ thing can get old really fast.

With all that being said, I’m quite interested in seeing how the writers are going to keep the show going. I know that there will be some twists and turns further along in the season and I can’t wait until they all unfold. I, actually, think that I might have discovered one just by doing research for this post, so I’m anxious to see if my little discovery is, in fact, an important plot twist.

What did you guys think of the first episode of The Catch? Did it catch your attention? If so, why and if not, why not?

The Catch airs on Thursdays at 10 p.m. on ABC.

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

