Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Simply Laura (S2 Ep.2 Review)

Simply Laura Episode Review

 

Episode Synopsis: Laura demonstrated three 15-minute meals.

The Recipes: Eggs in Purgatory (breakfast); Portobello Melt (lunch); and Scallops with wine and pancetta (dinner).

My thoughts: I know how hard it can be remember to keep yourself fed, especially when you’re constantly on the go, so I definitely get the logic and reasoning behind this episode. For her first meal, Laura made an Italian dish called Eggs in Purgatory with bacon. Because I follow her on YouTube, I’ve heard of this dish, but I’ve never tasted it. I’m not a fan of runny eggs, so this dish probably wouldn’t be something that I’d gravitate to, but I’ll try any recipe once. On the other hand, that portobello melt was something on a whole other level.

It probably isn’t the healthiest meal, but, oh my gosh, it looked so good! That melty cheese, crispy bread and sauce had me salivating and I’m sure my current situation (I’m hungry) doesn’t help. I need to befriend a chef because I would gladly be someones food tester. It would be my absolute pleasure to sit around and eat/test food all day!

The last meal that Laura made was the scallops with pancetta (Italian bacon that’s not smoked) and white wine. Now, scallops are one of my favorite shell fish, so, before she even started cooking, she was already winning, in my book. After quickly cooking the scallops, she took them out of the pan and added the pancetta, shallots and garlic. She let them cook for a minute and then chopped up some parsley “for a little green” and added a little pinot grigio into the frying pan for a “level of acidity.”

Laura then added those perfectly grilled scallops back into the frying pan to reheat. After that she took to scallops out, added the parsley to the pancetta, shallots, garlic and white wine mixture. Mixed it all up and poured the delicious looking sauce over the scallops. Perfection! If I could’ve jumped through the TV, I definitely would’ve. That meal looked so freaking good!! That frisee salad that she made to serve with the meal looked good, as well.

Conclusion: Great episode and I can’t wait until next week’s. Also, I definitely understand what it’s like to not be able to make it through your day without a couple good cups of coffee.

Simply Laura airs on Saturdays at 10:30 a.m. on the Cooking Channel.

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: Click here, to visit the Cooking Channel website for more of Laura’s written recipes.

 

 

 

One thought on “Simply Laura (S2 Ep.2 Review)

  1. Pingback: Simply Laura (S2 Ep1 Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

