Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

‘Once Upon a Time’ Returns (Review)

CV9wmVgF_400x400

Photo Credit: Once Upon a Time Twitter

Before I get into the review, I just want to welcome all my new followers. There is only a few of you, but I’m not complaining because I am so happy that you all like my blog enough to follow it. I am very grateful and I hope you continue to like and share the things that you read on Real Talk 4 U. Thanks so much for the support.

Now let’s talk about last night’s episode of Once Upon a Time.

For starters, I am so glad that I’d already set my DVR to record the new episodes because I completely forgot that the show was set to premiere last night. I didn’t remember until about 10 p.m., and, by that time, it had already came on and I would have missed it, so technology definitely saved my butt last night and I just want to take this time to kiss my cable box for having my back.

This episode picked up where the last finale left off: with all the Heroes (not including Gold, who, clearly, isn’t a hero) taking a trip to the Underworld to save Hook. We find out right away that this quest isn’t going to be easy because Neal, who is Henry’s father, Emma’s ex-boyfriend and Gold’s son, visits Emma in her dreams to try to persuade her to turn around and go back to Storybooke. She declines, of course, and wakes up just as they’re entering the Underworld.

Once they’ve made it into the Underworld and enter an alternate Storybooke filled with some dead citizens, who all have unfinished business, each character starts to run into people from their past. All of which may or may not have good intentions toward them, their friends and their goal.

I like how the writers spun the whole Underworld concept. It’s a very smart idea and it provided the perfect way to interweave some of those infamous villains from past seasons with our present day heroes and even though they were/are villains, it’s good to see their faces. They all had amazing storylines during the seasons that they were present, so I love that the writers figured out a way to bring them back.

In typical Once Upon a Time manner, the show isn’t just set in the present day. We also were taken back to the Enchanted Forest to visit with our favorite evil queen, who was, at the time, still hunting for Snow White’s heart.

One of the things that I noticed about this episode was that if focused mainly on Regina. It was meant to compare the past and present versions of her and to highlight how far she’s come in her journey to be a better person. During a bittersweet moment between Regina and someone very dear to her, I teared up because it was very touching and I was also very proud of her for sticking to her guns.

In terms of finding Hook, well, we all knew that that wasn’t going to happen in one episode. It’ll probably take the whole season, but I don’t care because I am ready.

*Cue Operation Firebird*

Also, at the end of the episode, they introduced a new, more powerful villain, the ruler of the Underworld, and I can’t wait to see what type of trouble he’s going to bring to our Heroes.

What did you think of Once Upon a Time? 

Once Upon a Time airs on Sundays at 8 p.m. on ABC.

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: If you didn’t know, this was also Once Upon a Time’s 100th episode. 

One thought on “‘Once Upon a Time’ Returns (Review)

Leave a Reply

