Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Simply Laura (S2 Ep1 Review)

YouTube cooking sensation, Laura Vitale, finally premiered the second season of her cooking show, Simply Laura. 

The show, which is 30 minutes long, is a more in depth version of her YouTube videos. On YouTube the viewer gets a shortened version of just her cooking, but on Simply Laura the viewer gets the opportunity to follow Laura around as she not only cooks, but also shops for the ingredients needed to make each recipe come alive.

In this morning’s episode, the viewer got to follow Laura around as she made a special date night meal for her and her husband, Joe Vitale. She decided to make a rib-eye steak with green beans and herbal butter; her Nonna’s crispy ribollita; and an amaretto tiramisu, which is Joe’s favorite, for dessert. Since the show is only half an hour long, we only got to go out with her to pick up two things: the main ingredient for their main course and a red wine for them to sip on throughout the meal.

One of the things that I love about Laura is that she not only shows you how to cook the meal, she also gives you tips on ways that can make your meal better. For example, instead of throwing away your parmesan rinds, you can freeze them and add them in soups, stews and sauces for extra flavor. She also told us that after you finish searing a steak you shouldn’t cut into it right away because you’ll lose all the juices. It’s best to let it rest for a minute. While those tips may be common knowledge for an avid cook, it isn’t for someone like me. I rarely cook and when I do it’s something simple and straight to the point, so I appreciate any type of advice Laura gives.

Toward the end of the show, while watching Laura and Joe plate the food, I instantly got hungry because everything looked delicious. The steak looked nice and juicy; the green beans looked amazing and when she added the herbal butter, I nearly died; and though I’ve never tried amaretto tiramisu or crispy ribollita, they both had me salivating and, after watching this show, I am more than willing to try them both.

The only thing that I don’t like about the show is the time it comes on. It’s so early in the morning, but that’s not too big of a problem now that a wonderful thing called DVR exists. I’ll just record the show and watch it later.

I am a huge fan of Laura’s and I have been subscribed to her YouTube channel for years, so I am definitely going to continue to watch this show. I started watching the first season last year, but I lost track of time and before I knew it, it was over, so I am going to do my best to keep track this season and maybe one of these days I’ll get up to courage to actually try to cook one of Laura’s recipes.

With all that being said, I highly recommend this show and if you don’t know Laura Vitale, you should get acquainted. She is an amazing cook and I can sit on my laptop for hours watching her YouTube videos. Watching her cooking is that addicting.

What are your thoughts on Simply Laura? Are you as addicted to Laura and her cooking as I am? Let me know in the comments.

Simply Laura airs on Saturdays at 10:30 a.m. on the Cooking Channel.

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: If your interested, Laura also has a cookbook out and she doesn’t only have a  cooking channel on YouTube, she also has a beauty channel and a vlog channel. You can also click here to visit Laura’s website to get tons of her written recipes.

**To view my review of episode 2 of Simply Laura, click here.**

 

Leave a Reply

