Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

The Next :15 (Ep.1 Review)

Ca5g0VdW0AABDQ1

Photo Credit: TVOne Twitter

The Next :15 is a new hour long reality show that premiered last night.

The show, which is produced by Carlos King (Real Housewives of Atlanta, Hollywood Divas, Selling It in the ATL, etc.) and based in California, is based around six misunderstood, ex-reality stars who all feel that the public has somehow misinterpreted them and their lives. They all come from a variety of shows and while starring in these shows, they’ve all gotten a bad reputation because of their behavior and/or because of rumors that were spread.

This show is supposed to be their second chance. It’s supposed to give them the opportunity to set the record straight and represent themselves in the best light.

The six reality stars include: Claudia Jordan (Real Housewives of Atlanta), Jennifer Williams (Basketball Wives), Benzino (Love and Hip-Hop: Atlanta), Laura Govan (Basketball Wives: LA), Karamo Brown (Real World: Philadelphia), and Tiffany ‘New York’ Pollard (Flavor of Love and I Love New York). 

Each star was handpicked by, either, Carlos or Claudia in hopes of having them participate in a talk show that Claudia wants to host. She wants to use this talk show as a way to reveal each reality star’s truth.

I heard about his show a couple months ago, but it slipped my mind until I was told that it premiered last night. I wasn’t sure what to think about it because I didn’t know what the concept was, but I did know that Jennifer and Claudia starred in it because I recently read a story about them fighting over the fact that Jennifer is dating Claudia’s ex.

Now that I know what the concept of the show is, I’m kind of confused. How can they clean up their reputations and make themselves look better to the public when they’re constantly fighting and throwing shade at one another? How does that make you look better? I mean, I get that this is reality TV and they need the drama to keep the show going, but I just don’t see how it can work.

Throughout the whole first episode, Claudia and Jennifer were throwing shade at one another. Jennifer was saying that Claudia is a hoe and has slept her way to the top and Claudia was saying that Jennifer is a pushover who still wears contacts. It’s crazy. How can you change the way the public sees you when you can’t even change the way your cast mates see you, especially when you’re all in the same situation?

With all that being said, I still enjoyed the episode and I will continue to watch. That focus group scene was hilarious and I am ashamed to say that some of the stuff that they mentioned, I agreed with, like how it looks like Benzino doesn’t have a neck (sorry, Benzino) and the fact that Jennifer did behave like a pushover in Basketball Wives. I also liked the behind the scenes aspect that we got. They showed them setting up lighting, interviewing the cast and getting them ready to shoot scenes. It was interesting and I enjoyed it.

The sneak peek that we got of the rest of the season was drama filled and I can’t wait to see if this show actually helps any of them clean up their reputations.

The Next :15 airs on Wednesdays at 9 p.m. on TVOne.

Amira 😉

A Little Extra: Where did the drama between Claudia and Jennifer come from when they said, themselves, that they’ve never met and Claudia said that she wasn’t mad that Jennifer and her ex are together?

Leave a Reply

