Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

Olivia Pope Is Back! (Scandal Review)

rQLyU84W_400x400

Tonight was the premiere episode of Scandal and it didn’t disappoint.

The episode picks up 6 months after Olivia and Fitz’s breakup and they are both coping with it in completely different ways. Olivia falls back into old habits and Fitz has found another woman to fill that empty space that Mellie and Olivia once occupied.

Olivia and Associates is back in business and I was glad to see that because I was, honestly, tired of seeing Olivia play the housewife. It was clear that she was miserable and we all know that she’s more than just being someone’s wife. I see her as a take charge problem solver that everyone in Washington D.C. comes to to make all their mistakes and problems go away as quickly and quietly as possible, so I was ecstatic that she didn’t abandon her business and her team.

But although I’m happy to see Olivia get back to work, I was peeved that she and Fitz broke up. We spent the last 4 1/2 seasons watching them fight to keep their relationship a secret and, when they were outed, fight to stay together, so it didn’t make any sense to me that Shonda Rhimes would break them up when they were finally in the clear. After years of hiding their love for one another, they were finally free to be together and for them to just call it quits sucked! However, I understand the reasons why they separated; it’s just a bummer. I feel like the last couple season meant nothing.

Anyway, as I said earlier, Olivia and her Gladiators have a new client and this client is, of course, in some serious trouble that will not only destroy their career, but also destroy some relationships with a couple U.S. allies. While working on this case, Olivia finds out some things that she didn’t know about and, once again, she gets played for a fool.

All of our favorite villains and heroes are still around. Cyrus and Abby are both still working in the White House; Huck, Quinn and Marcus are all still working for Olivia; Mellie has another idea that will get her into the White House and she had to seek help from someone that she never thought she would turn to (I can’t wait to see how that turns out); Jake is still throwing us all through loops; and Papa Pope is still up to no good.

Though I didn’t like Mellie in the last past few seasons, she is starting to grow on me and I want to see her win. She desperately wants to be the president and I think that, if she plays her cards right, she just might get there someday. In some ways, she has more passion about politics than Fitz does.

Overall, this episode has some good twists in it and it reminds me of why I love this show. Shonda is an excellent writer and I can’t wait to see what else she has planned for us in the upcoming episodes.

Scandal airs on Thursdays at 9 p.m. on ABC.

Amira 😉

One thought on “Olivia Pope Is Back! (Scandal Review)

  1. Pingback: HTGAWM Returns (Review) | Real Talk 4 U

Leave a Reply

