Entertainment / Music / Review

Zayn Malik’s “PILLOWTALK” (Review)

zayn-malik-pillow-tallk

Former One Direction member, Zayn Malik (a.k.a Zayn) has finally dropped the first single from his upcoming debut solo album, Mind of Mine. 

The song is titled “PILLOWTALK” and I love it! This song has, literally, been on repeat since I bought it.

The first time I heard the song all the way through was when I viewed the video. Zayn and Gigi Hadid, who is his current girlfriend, make one good looking couple and their chemistry in that video was off the charts. I’ll admit that when I first heard the song, I thought that it was all about sex. I mean, we all know what pillow talk is and when you actually have it, so I thought that it was a given that that was the subject of the song. Plus, he’s talking about her climbing on him, how much he wants to hold her close and how they’re going to piss of their neighbors with acts that are “so dirty and raw,” so, yeah, sex came to mind, but when I pulled up the lyrics and actually payed close attention to their actions in the video, I wasn’t so sure that my assumption was correct.

The lyrics contain a bunch of contrasts: light and dark; enemy and ally; and pain and pleasure. Those things make me think of good vs. bad or happy vs. sad and when you watch the video, you’ll see how both Zayn and Gigi’s moods shift from happy to angry and back to happy again. Gigi is seen yelling, crying and pushing him away and at different parts of the video, they both are shown crying bloody tears. The video also has some cool kaleidoscopic effects added and they also added a couple extra women, two of which are seen boxing one another. One of the girls has “war zone” tattooed on her body.

I don’t think this song is all about sex anymore. I think it’s about the ups and downs that couples have in relationships. It’s normal to have fights and disagreements in relationships and I think that’s what Zayn is singing about in this song.

The song itself has a R&B feel to it and they added a little bit of attitude to it with the electric guitars. Zayn really shows us his vocal ability in this song as well. He has a sexy full voice and, from the videos that I watched of some of his live performances, he actually can sing, so he isn’t a studio singer. I like to think that when he recorded this song he adopted this cool, laid back persona because those are the vibes that I’m getting when I listen to the song.

I wasn’t a One Direction fan (shocking, right?), so I wouldn’t know if this is true, but everyone is saying that “PILLOWTALK” is so different from the music that he recorded while he was in the boyband. Maybe that’s why he left. I’ve heard a couple of songs from One Direction and they were all pop, so maybe he didn’t want to do pop music anymore. When you think about it, it makes sense.

Either way, the song is amazing and I’m not surprised that it shot to #1 so quickly. It makes me so excited to hear the rest of Mind Over Mine and, who knows, it may become one of the few albums that I fully purchase from iTunes.

Amira 😉

 

Leave a Reply

