Entertainment / Movies / Review

‘The Revenant’ (Late Review)

The_Revenant_2015_film_poster

I know that this is extremely late since The Revenant came out over a month ago, but I would like to discuss my thoughts on the film.

Before I get started, I just want to say how shocked I was that there were barely any seats left in the theater that I went to. I thought that since this movie had been out for quite some time, those that really wanted to see it would have seen it already, so there would be lots of seats leftover. I did not expect to have to sit all the way in the back of the theater because there were, literally, like 25-30 seats left and majority of those were in the very front. But I guess when a film has been nominated for over 10 Academy Awards (Oscars), its audience multiplies.

The Revenant, which is based on true events, is a story about survival. The movie follows explorer Hugh Glass (Leonardo DiCaprio), who is brutally attacked by a female grizzly bear and left for dead by two of his fellow comrades, John Fitzgerald (Tom Hardy) and Jim Bridger (Will Poulter). As he treks through the American wilderness to seek revenge for a terrible betrayal, he is tested in many ways. With it being in the dead center of winter, he has to go through unbelievable circumstances to keep himself alive not only from the elements, but from enemies as well.

This film is not for a weak of heart. They were in the middle of a war with some Native Americans, so it is very gruesome and the director was not shy when it came to the graphics. I cringed a couple of times during this film. The killings and that bear attack was just crazy! It’s kind of shocking to know that a man actually lived through some of the events that occurred. I will admit that some of the stuff that Leo’s character went through seemed unrealistic. I mean, me and the couple of people that I saw the movie with felt that some of the stuff that happened, should have killed the character twice over. It makes me think that maybe some of it was just thought up by the writers and director to make his quest seem all the more impossible.

I actually did a little research on the real Hugh Glass and though he did survive a bear attack, nothing specified what he went through on his revenge filled journey. The attack took place in the early 1820s, so there isn’t really anything solid that says what exactly happened to Glass during that time.

This film was okay. It wasn’t great, but it wasn’t terrible either. It’s one of those films that I can only watch once. It was too gory and heavy for me, but I do think that Leo and the other actors did a great job. They did their characters justice and it didn’t look or feel over or under acted. I recently watched a film with Tom in it (Child 44) and in that film he had a Russian accent, but in this one he had a southern american accent and it was weird hearing him talk in this film. His accent sounded authentic, so he did good, but it just threw me for a loop when he said his first line. Leo was stunning, as usual. He is a phenomenal actor and I think he should at least get an Oscar for his performance in this film. He already won a SAG Award for his role in it, so maybe he will finally get his Oscar. I also think that Tom should get one as well because his acting was on point too.

The Revenant was also too long, in my opinion. It is 2 hours and 36 minutes long and it was hard to stay focused. It also lagged a little for me. I think it would have been good if they had cut about 30 minutes off and made it 2 hours long. I don’t think we would have missed anything of substance.

Hope this helped. Comment and let me know what you thought of The Revenant. 

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

