Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

“Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments” (TV Show Review)

Shadowhunters

THOUGHTS BEFORE THE PREMIERE 

I don’t have too much to say about this one other than the fact that it does intrigue me and that I am interested in watching it.

I liked The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, which was a film that was made in 2013. It was the first adaption of Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare and it starred Lily Collins, Jamie Campbell Bower and Lena Headey. I guess the film didn’t do too well in theaters, so they decided to scale down and make it a series. Either way it doesn’t really matter to me because I liked the first adaption and I’m willing to give the second adaption a chance.

I’m a big fan of fantasy stories that have strong female leads, so this is right up my alley. I couldn’t get through the books, but that doesn’t discourage me because I couldn’t get through the Pretty Little Liars books either and I still fell in love with the tv series.

I’m interested in seeing how the show is going to play out and I hope there is plenty of action, romance and mythical creatures involved. They changed the actors, so hopefully they will bring a whole new look to the show.

THOUGHTS AFTER THE PREMIERE

This show was so cheesy. The acting, the one-liners and the fighting just had me laughing and rolling my eyes the whole time.

Clary Fray (Katherine McNamara) just turned 18, so she goes out to a club, The Pandemonium, to celebrate with friends; one of them being Simon Lewis (Alberto Rosende). While there she encounters three Shadowhunters: Jace Wayland (Dominic Sherwood), Isabelle Lightwood (Emeraude Toubia) and Alec Lightwood (Matthew Daddario). Clary realizes that she’s the only person who can see them, so she follows them into the club to get answers.

The whole point of them going into the club was to stalk and kill the demons that have been killing and draining people of their blood. She witnesses all that and runs home to tell her mother what she saw. Her mom wasn’t surprised because she knows that Clary is also a Shadowhunter, which are human-angel hybrids who protect humans from demons.

Her mom is then kidnapped. The viewer finds out that she has hidden the Mortal Cup. We don’t know what that is yet, but we get that it’s something important. Clary is teleported from her home to some school, but she walks home and encounters a demon. Jace saves her and brings her back to an abandoned church.

Clary panics because she doesn’t know where she is and Jace tells her that she is in fact a Shadowhunter. Of course, she doesn’t believe him. All she’s worrying about is where her mom is. Simon ends up tracking her phone and locating her. Jace kills a member of The Circle in front of them and Simon freaks out. He wants Clary to go with him to contact the police, but Jace is telling her that she should come with him. The episode ends before Clary makes her choice.

I’m not sure about this show. It’s funny in some ways, but I also think that, at times, the acting is a little over done. If I had to choose between the movie and the tv show, I’d say the movie is better, so far. The movie was more serious and the tv show is a little more lighthearted, so maybe it’ll grow on me.

You can view the second episode on the Freeform website, so maybe I’ll do that. I will continue to watch the show for at least the next few episodes, but if it doesn’t get any better than I’ll probably stop watching it.

Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments airs on Tuesdays at 9 p.m. on Freeform.

Lots of hugs and kisses

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

