Entertainment / Review / TV Shows

MTV’s “The Shannara Chronicles” Review

The_Shannara_Chronicles_logo

I think I found the show that I’m going to be obsessed with for the rest of this winter.

For the past couple of weeks I had been seeing the trailer for this series all over TV. It piqued my interest and I decided to give it my customary 3 episodes. I have this thing that I do with every new show that I start. I watch the first 3 episodes and if I’m not invested by then than I know that that show isn’t for me.

It literally didn’t even take me half of the first episode to get sucked into this show. It’s amazing!

The series, which is an adaption of The Sword of Shannara Trilogy by Terry Brooks, is a post apocalyptic fantasy that has adventure, mystery, angst and romance, which is always a plus for me. Amberle Elessedil (Poppy Drayton), is an Elf princess and one of seven Chosen, which are the servants of the Ellcrys. The Ellcrys is a tree that holds back an ancient demon army in another realm. Those facts ended up playing a really big part in the overall story, so pay close attention. Amberle ends up running away from the palace because she believes that she has put her friends in danger because of her selfishness.

Things happen, choices are made and the viewer is introduced to the other two main characters: a half elf/half human healer named Wil Ohmsford (Austin Butler) and a human Rover (or thief) named Eritrea (Ivana Vaquero). Allanon (Manu Bennett), the last living Druid, is a main character in the first few episodes, but I don’t think he’ll be in too many of the next ones. He makes an appearance, after being away from quite some time, to inform the king of what’s to come and by the end of the first episode something terrible happens and Allanon realizes that they only have one hope for survival. You’ll see in the next couple episodes how the other two main characters fall into place.

That’s all that I’m going to give you because I don’t want to spoil anything, but just know that the show is good! It’s action packed and will have you on the edge of your seat. I also loved that the females in this show aren’t damsels. They are strong, take charge women who can hold their own. The special effects were also pretty impressive, so that didn’t hurt.

Drayton, Butler and Vaquero are all great actors and they all really got into their roles and played their parts very well. Though the show is mostly serious, it did have its funny moments, but one thing that I know I’m not going to like is the love triangle that I see forming. I had enough of that in the Twilight Saga, but because I really liked the show, I’ll suck it up.

So with all that being said, I will definitely be watching the remaining six episodes (the first season is supposed to be 10 episodes long).

The Shannara Chronicles officially premiered on January 5 on MTV, but you can watch the first two episodes on YouTube and the first four episodes on the MTV website. If you don’t want to binge the first four episodes, the show airs on Tuesdays at 10 p.m. on MTV.

I hope this review helped you. Let me know how you guys feel about the show by commenting.

Lots of hugs and kisses

Amira 😉

Note: If you want to watch the episodes on MTV’s website, know that you have to sign into your TV provider account in order to gain access.

Leave a Reply

