Chats

And So It Continues…

It’s only a week into 2016 and already I’m bummed.

One of the first goals that I set for myself was to find a job. If you didn’t already know, I graduated from college in May of last year. In late August, early September 2015, I started job hunting.

To this day, I am still looking for a job. 😦 That may not be a surprise to some of you, but I definitely didn’t think that it would take this long to find a job, especially since I have both a bachelor’s degree and an associate degree.

I’ve filled out so many job applications for magazines, newspapers, book publishing companies and even some non profit organizations and not one company has called back. I think I know why I’m not getting any call backs. I believe it’s because I am an amateur. They all seem to want someone with at least 5 years of experience in journalism/communication and I don’t have that much experience yet. I understand that these companies don’t want to have to ‘babysit’ a new employee, but my problem with that is: how can I gain experience when no-one is willing to hire me?

Finding a job in the field that I got my degree in is taking a lot longer than I expected it to, but I’m not going to give up on it. I can’t give up on it. Since my music isn’t moving at the rate that I would like it to, I need to use my plan B (i.e. my degrees) to make a living.

I refuse to get a job at a fast food place, Target, Walmart or anything along those lines. It’s not because there is something wrong with working there, it’s because I want to find a job that will allow me to use my degrees. I worked so hard for them, so I would like to put them to use. What’s the point of getting a degree if you’re just going to sit on it, right? That may be a little too far fetched for someone who is just starting out, but I like to dream big.

One thing I don’t want to do is rush into getting a job and end up hating it. I would hate to be stuck working a job that I can’t stand. I am aware that there is no perfect job. I will probably always find flaws in any job that I come across, but I don’t want to be working a job where I am miserable to the point that I am, literally, counting the seconds until I have to report in for work.

I’m not expecting the perfect job, but I would at least like to find some enjoyment in what I would be doing. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

Anyway, I’m going to end this rant and finish eating my Thai soup.

Lots of hugs and kisses

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

