Chats

Our Christmas Tradition

This year, Christmas was pretty good. Not very eventful, but pretty good, nonetheless.

I spent it with my mom and dad, as I have been doing for the past few years and we just relaxed. We got up early and all participated in preparing out Christmas feast and then we spend the rest of the day singing holiday songs, eating and watching movies. A lot of people may not find that very entertaining, but we like it.

We also don’t exchange gifts. Surprising, I know, but, to us, our gift is being able to spend time with one another. There are so many people in the world that don’t have the opportunity to spend a nice, peaceful day with family and we are all grateful that we aren’t amongst them. We also don’t want to get too caught up in the materialistic aspect of Christmas, so instead of giving a gift, we give each other time. One day of 100% uninterrupted family time.

I know that everyone won’t agree with how we do things and that’s okay. I don’t expect everyone to, but I also want to make it clear that I am in no way hating on any of the millions of families who do continue to give and receive gifts. If it works for you than do what works for your family. And just because we don’t give gifts on Christmas doesn’t mean we don’t give gifts throughout the year. We give ‘just because’ gifts.

We also don’t have any young children, so that may be another reason why we can get away with not giving gifts. If we had a young child in the house than we would have to keep the rouse of Santa Clause going. It would be up to us to make that day fun for him/her and, if we  had to, I think we would be up to the job. The excitement of knowing that Santa will be stopping by to drop off gifts, being woken up at first light and just seeing the joy on a child’s face when they open their presents are things that parents look forward to.

I think, when I have children (in the very distant future) Christmas will be one of the holidays that I’ll look forward to. Just the overall happiness that comes along with that day would be intoxicating not just for the kids, but for me (and, hopefully, my husband) as well. I also think it would be fun creating traditions that work just for my family.

Though I didn’t party, exchange gifts or get outrageously drunk this Christmas, I am completely happy with how my day went.

I hope that you all enjoyed your day as well. I’m interested in knowing how you spent your Christmas and I also would like to know some of the Christmas traditions that your family has. Let me know in the comments.

 

Lots of hugs and kisses

Amira 😉

Leave a Reply

